## **IEEE Signal Processing Society**

(formerly known as the Society Award and the Pioneer In Speech Communication Award)

The Society Award honors outstanding technical contributions in a field within the scope of the IEEE Signal Processing Society and outstanding leadership in that field.

2018	John R. Treichler, for contributions and leadership in the practical use of adaptive digital signal processing and for sustained service to the Society.
2017	Alejandro (Alex) Acero, for contributions to speech technology and leadership in the signal processing community.
2016	P. P. Vaidyanathan, for his pioneering contributions to signal processing theory and education.
2015	Alfred O. Hero, for contributions to the field of statistical signal and image processing and for sustained service to the Society.
2014	K. J. Ray Liu, for influential technical contributions and profound leadership impact.
2013	Al Bovik, for fundamental contributions to digital image processing theory, technology, leadership and education.
	Alan S. Willsky, for fundamental contributions to probabilistic modeling and for pioneering work in the development and application of multi- resolution statistical methods.
2012	José M. F. Moura, for outstanding technical contributions and leadership in signal processing.
2011	H. Vincent Poor, for fundamental technical contributions to, and leadership in, statistical signal processing and its applications to wireless communications and related fields.
2010	Martin Vetterli, for fundamental contributions to signal processing theory, technology and education.
2009	Rama Chellappa, for pioneering and fundamental contributions to image and video-based analysis and understanding.
2008	Edward J. Delp, for technical contributions to the areas of multimedia security and image and video coding.
2007	Rabab Kreidieh Ward, for outstanding technical contributions and leadership in advancing the field of signal and image processing.
2006	<b>Petre Stoica</b> , for outstanding contributions to the theory and applications of statistical signal processing through fundamental research papers and prominent books.
2005	Sadaoki Furui, for outstanding research contributions and leadership in the speech processing area of the IEEE Signal Processing Society.
2004	Louis Scharf, for sustained technical contributions in the area of statistical signal processing and voluntary services to IEEE Signal Processing Society.
2003	David C. Munson, Jr., for exceptional contributions, both technical and in service, to the Signal Processing Community.

	Allen Gersho, for contributions to signal processing and signal compression.
2001	Sanjit K. Mitra, for important and significant contributions to analog and digital signal processing and image processing.
2000	Mos Kaveh, for pioneering technical contributions and outstanding leadership in the development, theoretical analysis, and experimental performance of adaptive sensor array signal processing algorithms.
1999	Bede Liu, for outstanding theoretical contributions and technical leadership in digital signal processing.
1998	Bernard Widrow, for pioneering and lasting contributions to the fields of adaptive signal processing, adaptive control, and artificial neural networks.
1997	Frederik Jelinek, for his pioneering work in developing the statistical approach to continuous large vocabulary speech recognition.
1996	Fumitada Itakura, for his invention of the Itakura-Saito distortion measure for linear prediction based speech analysis, coding and recognition, and the Line Spectral Pair representation for efficient quantization of LPC parameters.
1995	James H. McClellan, for long-standing and outstanding contributions to signal processing theory, practice, and education and to the IEEE Signal Processing Society.
1994	C. Sidney Burrus, for technical leadership in filter design and fast transform algorithms and for signal processing education.
1993	<b>Robert M. Gray,</b> for pioneering contributions to the theory and design of data compression and classification systems based on the ideas of vector quantization and decision trees.
1992	Bishnu S. Atal, for contributions to speech coding based on the ideas of linear production of speech, and multipulse and code excited source coding.
1991	Thomas S. Huang, for contributions and leadership in the areas of image and multidimensional signal processing.
1990	T. Kailath.
1989	R. M. Mersereau.
1988	J. Makhoul.
1987	T. W. Parks.
1986	K. Steiglitz.
1985	B. Gold.
1984	C. M. Rader.
1983	J. W. Cooley.

1982	R. W. Schafer.
1981	J. F. Kaiser.
1980	L. R. Rabiner.
1979	A. V. Oppenheim.
1978	H. W. Schuessler.
1977	H. S. McDonald.
1976	No Recipient.
1975	J. L. Flanagan.
1972	F. S. Cooper.
1967	H. W. Dudley.