## Rajagopalan, A. N. and Rama Chellappa. *Motion Deblurring: Algorithms and Systems.* United Kingdom: Cambridge University Press, 2014, 293 pp. \$120.00 (Hardbound).

A comprehensive guide to restoring images degraded by motion blur, bridging traditional approaches and emerging computational photography-based techniques, and bringing together a wide range of methods drawn from basic theory and cutting-edge research. It encompasses both algorithms and architectures, providing detailed coverage of practical techniques by leading researchers.

From an algorithm perspective, blind and non-blind approaches are discussed, including the use of single or multiple images; projective motion blur model; image priors and parametric models; high dynamic range imaging in the irradiance domain; and recognition of blurred images. Performance limits for motion deblurring cameras are also presented.

From a systems perspective, hybrid frameworks combining low resolution high-speed and high resolution low-speed cameras are described, along with the use of inertial sensors and coded exposure cameras. An architecture exploiting compressive sensing for video recovery is also included.

This book will be a valuable resource for researchers and practitioners in computer vision, image processing, and related fields.

**A. N. Rajagopalan** is a Professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering at the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras. He co-authored the book *Depth from Defocus: A Real Aperture Imaging Approach* in 1998. He is a Fellow of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany, a Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering, and a Senior Member of the IEEE. He received the Outstanding Investigator Award from the Department of Atomic Energy, India, in 2012 and the VASVIK Award in 2013.

**Rama Chellappa** is Minta Martin Professor of Engineering and an Affiliate Professor of Computer Science at the University of Maryland, College Park. He is also affiliated with the Center for Automation Research and UMIACS, and is serving as Chair of the ECE department. He is a recipient of the K.S. Fu Prize from the International Association for Pattern Recognition (IAPR) and the Society, Technical Achievement, and Meritorious Service Awards from the IEEE Signal Processing Society. In 2010, he was recognized as an Outstanding ECE by Purdue University. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, IAPR, OSA, ACM, and AAAS, a Golden Core Member of the IEEE Computer Society, and has served as a Distinguished Lecturer of the IEEE Signal Processing Society, and the President of the IEEE Biometrics Council.