SPCOM TC Meeting Minutes April 16, 2024, Seoul, South Korea

Meeting minutes taken by Urbashi Mitra

TC Members Attending (17): Waheed Bajwa (Chair), Veronica Belmega (remote), Mark Eisen (remote), Yonina Eldar, Y.-W. Peter Hong (remote), Rodrigo C de Lamare, Amir Leshem, An Liu (remote), Urbashi Mitra (Vice Chair), Kumar Vijay Mishra (remote), Roula Nassif, Nuria Gonzalez Prelic, Anne Savard (remote), Nir Shlezinger, Christos Thrampoulidis, Antti Tolli, and Jun Zhang

Non-members Attending (8): Itsik Bergel (SPAWC 2026), Ravikumar Balakrishnan (Associate Member), Tim Davidson (Advisory Member), Georgios B Giannakis (Advisory Member), Amleset Kelafi (Affiliate Member), Geert Leus (SPAWC 2023), Geoffrey Ye Li (SPAWC 2025), and Erik G Larsson (Advisory Member)

Non-attending TC Members (13): Ahmed Alkhateeb, George Alexandropoulos, Angela Sara Cacciapuoti, Junil Choi, Domenico Ciuonzo, David Morales, Ana Pérez-Neira, Deniz Gunduz, Elvin Isufi, Tsung-Hui Chang, Shang-Ho Lawrence Tsai, Xin Wang, and Ya-Feng Liu

Meeting format: In-Person

Minutes

- Chair of the Technical Committee, Waheed Bajwa, started the meeting with a general discussion of the state of the TC, including TC membership. He expressed gratitude to previous members and the outgoing Past Chair, Osvaldo Simeone, and welcomed new members and the incoming Vice Chair, Urbashi Mitra. He also discussed upcoming elections and clarified the different categories of TC members: Advisory Members, Associate Members, Affiliate Members, and Student Affiliate Members. A demographic breakdown of the TC membership across various dimensions was provided, highlighting the need for improved diversity across multiple sectors of TC membership.
- The discussion then turned to ICASSP and SPAWC longitudinal statistics. ICASSP statistics for the TC have rebounded to pre-pandemic levels, but SPAWC statistics are still lagging slightly behind.
- The meeting included a review of the 2023 nominations for different awards and TC member involvement in the nomination process. The membership of the various committee assignments for the TC was presented, and a review calendar for TC activities for the remainder of 2024 was shared.
- This was followed by SPAWC presentations:
 - SPAWC 2023 Presentation (Presenter: Geert Leus)
 - SPAWC 2024 Presentation (Slides Only)
 - SPAWC 2025 Presentation (Presenter: Geoffrey Li), which included a discussion on the timing of the workshop
 - SPAWC 2026 Presentation (Presenters: Itsik Bergel and Nir Shlezinger), which included a discussion
 of contingency plans for holding the workshop in Israel in case peace does not return to the region
 in time for SPAWC planning
- Updates from the ISAC and SA Technical Working Groups (TWGs) were tabled due to time constraints.
- The discussion then moved to the SPS-level 2023 review of SPCOM TC and the future of the TC, including 2023 review recommendations. There was also a discussion about changing the name of SPAWC to incorporate AI, with a unanimous consensus to proceed with the name change to Signal Processing and Artificial Intelligence for Wireless Communications, despite potential drawbacks such as resetting the workshop's impact factor.

•	Additionally, there was a discussion about the relationship between the SAM and SPCOM workshops and the possibility of co-locating the SAM workshop and SPAWC in even years. Finally, there was a discussion about EDICS and overlap with other TCs and what that might mean for submissions to the SPCOM TC within ICASSP.