IEEE Signal Processing Society Leo L. Beranek Meritorious Service Award

(formerly known as the Meritorious Service Award)

The award comprises a plaque and a certificate; judging is based on dedication, effort, and contributions to the Society.

2022	Ahmed Tewfik, for exemplary service to and leadership in the Signal Processing Society.			
	Tulay Adali, for exemplary service to and leadership in the Signal Processing Society.			
2021	John Hansen, for exemplary service to and leadership in the Signal Processing Society.			
	Shoji Makino, for exemplary service to and leadership in the Signal Processing Society.			
2020	No Recipient.			
2019 Thrasyvoulos N. Pappas, for exemplary service to and leadership in the Signal Processing Society.				
	Helen Meng, for exemplary service to and leadership in the Signal Processing Society.			
2018	Abdelhak M. Zoubir, for exemplary service to and leadership in the Signal Processing Society.			
2017	Mari Ostendorf, for exemplary service to and leadership in the Signal Processing Society.			
	John H. Cozzens, for exemplary service to and leadership in the Signal Processing Society.			
2016	K. J. Ray Liu, for exemplary service to and leadership in the Signal Processing Society.			
2015	Min Wu, for exemplary service to and leadership in the Signal Processing Society.			
2014	V. John Mathews, for exemplary service to and leadership in the Signal Processing Society.			
2013	Ali H. Sayed, for exemplary service to and leadership in the Signal Processing Society.			
	Rabab Ward, for exemplary service to and leadership in the Signal Processing Society.			
2012	Athina Petropulu, for exemplary service in technical leadership capacities.			
2011	Shih-Fu Chang and Li Deng, for extraordinary service contributions and outstanding leadership of the IEEE Signal Processing Magazine.			
2010	Lin-shan Lee, for extraordinary service to the speech and signal processing for communications communities.			
	Nikos D. Sidiropoulos, for dedicated service and leadership in the field of signal processing for communications and networking.			

2009	Arye Nehorai, for exceptional and dedicated service as a leader in a broad range of activities for the Society and profession					
	Isabel Maria Martins Trancoso, for outstanding service and leadership to the worldwide community in the field of speech processing.					
2008	Frederick C. Mintzer, for service to the IEEE Signal Processing Society.					
2007	Rama Chellappa, for exemplary and sustained service in technical leadership capacities.					
2006	Richard V. Cox, for exceptional and dedicated service over many years as a leader of the IEEE Signal Processing Society.					
2005	Robert Gray, for outstanding service and dedication to the Signal Processing Society.					
2004	Andreas S. Spanias, for sustained and dedicated service and leadership spanning a broad range of volunteer activities.					
2003	Leah H. Jamieson , for sustained contributions in Signal Processing Society activities at all levels, for distinct achievements in SP education and research, and for contributions in promoting and supporting women students, engineers and faculty.					
	José M. F. Moura, for outstanding and exemplary service to the IEEE Signal Processing Society, its publications and committees.					
2002	Bede Liu, for sustained exemplary service to the signal processing community.					
2001	Aggelos K. Katsaggelos, for outstanding service to the IEEE Signal Processing Society in many capacities, and in particular as Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Signal Processing Magazine.					
2000	Don H. Johnson, for sustained, enlightened, and multifaceted service to the Society, its Technical Committees, and the IEEE.					
1999	Tariq S. Durrani, for tireless effort in promoting signal processing, and for outstanding leadership in service to the Signal Processing Society.					
1998	Alfred O. Hero, III, for outstanding service to the IEEE Signal Processing Society.					
1997	Alan C. Bovik, for outstanding services to the IEEE Signal Processing Society in many capacities, and in particular for initiating the International Conference on Image Processing.					
1996	John R. (Jack) Deller, for contributions to the advancement of Signal Processing Publications and Education.					
1995	Panos E. Papamichalis, for exceptional service to the Society as Conference Board Chairman and as General Chair of ICASSP 987.					
1994	David C. Munson, JR., for dramatic and innovative leadership in guiding the IEEE Signal Processing Society through a period of unprecedented change and growth in Society products and administration.					
1993	Thomas H. Crystal, for a decade and a half of exemplary service and leadership to promote technical excellence and transnational principles for our Society.					
1992	John G. Ackenhusen, for service as President and sustained contributions to the conference operations of the Signal Processing Society.					

1991	Maureen Quirk, for years of exemplary service as Treasurer of the Signal Processing Society, Secretary of its Conference Board, and the Society's diligent link to the financial affairs of the IEEE.
1990	D. M. Etter.
1989	J. W. Woods.
1988	M. Kaveh.
1987	H. Fujisaki.
1986	J. B. Allen.
1985	R. E. Crochiere and N. R. Dixon.
1984	W. E. Collins.
1983	C. Rader.
1982	M. Bellanger and C. Gueguen.
1981	R. Yarlagadda.
1980	H. Silverman and C. F. Teacher.
1979	J.Cooley and N. R. Dixon.
1978	J. F. Kaiser.
1977	H. D. Helms.
1976	L.R. Rabiner and C. F. Teacher.
1975	W. Chapman.
1974	J.J. Earshen.
1973	H.S. McDonald.
1972	W. Chapman and F. Van Veen.
1971	No Recipient.
1970	R.H. Rose.