## IEEE Signal Processing Society Signal Processing Magazine Best Column Award

The IEEE Signal Processing Magazine Best Column Award honors the author(s) of a column of exceptional merit and broad interest on a subject related to the Society's technical scope and appearing in the Society's magazine.

2022	<b>Dong Yu</b> and <b>Li Deng</b> for "Deep Learning and Its Applications to Signal and Information Processing [Exploratory DSP]", <i>IEEE Signal Processing Magazine</i> , vol. 28, no. 1, January 2011.				
2021	Moshe Mishali and Yonina C. Eldar, for their article "Wideband Spectrum Sensing at Sub-Nyquist Rates", IEEE Signal Processing Magazine, July 2017				
2020	Ljubiša Stankovic´, Srdjan Stankovic´, and Miloš Dakovic, for their article "From the STFT to the Wigner Distribution", IEEE Signal Processing Magazine, May 2014.				
2019	<b>Emil Björnson</b> , <b>Mats Bengtsson</b> , and <b>Björn Ottersten</b> for their article "Optimal Multiuser Transmit Beamforming: A Difficult Problem with a Simple Solution Structure", <i>IEEE Signal Processing Magazine</i> , vol. 31, no. 4, July 2014.				
2018	Sangwoo Park, Erchin Serpedin, and Khalid Qaraqe for "Gaussian Assumption: The Least Favorable but the Most Useful", IEEE Signal Processing Magazine, vol. 30, no. 3, May 2013.				
2017	Ramsey Faragher, for the paper entitled, Understanding the Basis of the Kalman Filter Via a Simple and Intuitive Derivation, IEEE Signal Processing Magazine, Volume 29, Number 5, September 2012.				
2016	Ronald W. Schafer, for the paper entitled, What Is a Savitzky-Golay Filter?, IEEE Signal Processing Magazine, Volume 28, No. 4, July 2011.				
2015	Antonio Plaza, Javier Plaza, Abel Paz and Sergio Sánchez, for the paper entitled, Parallel Hyperspectral Image and Signal Processing, IEEE Signal Processing Magazine, Volume 28, Number 3, May 2011.				
2014	Göran Bergqvist and Erik G. Larsson, for the paper entitled, The Higher-Order Singular Value Decomposition: Theory and an Application, IEEE Signal Processing Magazine, Volume 27, Number 3, May 2010.				
2013	No Recipient.				
2012	Erik G. Larsson, for the paper entitled, MIMO Detection Methods: How They Work, IEEE Signal Processing Magazine, Volume 26, Number 3, May 2009.				
2011	Hagit Messer, for the paper entitled, Rainfall Monitoring Using Cellular Networks, IEEE Signal Processing Magazine, Volume 24, Number 3, May 2007.				
2010	James L. Flanagan, for the paper entitled, Parametric Representation of Speech Signals, <i>IEEE Signal Processing Magazine</i> , Volume 27, Number 3, May 2010.				
2009	Richard G. Baraniuk, for the paper entitled, Compressive Sensing, IEEE Signal Processing Magazine, Volume 24, Number 4, July 2007.				
2008	Mauro Barni, for the paper entitled, What is the Future of Watermarking? - Part I, IEEE Signal Processing Magazine, Volume 20, Number 5, September 2003, and Part II, Volume 20, Number 6, November 2003.				
2007	Richard Lyons, for the paper entitled, Turbocharging Interpolated FIR Filters, IEEE Signal Processing Magazine, Volume 24, Number 5, September 2007.				