IEEE Signal Processing Society <u>Carl Friedrich Gauss Education Award</u>

(formerly known as the Education Award)

The Signal Processing Society Carl Friedrich Gauss Education Award honors educators who have made pioneering and significant contributions to signal processing education.

2018	Stéphane Mallat, for contributions to education in wavelet- and sparsity-based methods and their mathematical foundations.
2017	CC. Jay Kuo, for contributions to signal, image and multimedia education.
2016	No recipient.
2015	Ali H. Sayed, for the writing of scholarly and influential texts in the areas of adaptive systems and statistical signal processing.
2014	Sergios Theodoridis, for sustained contributions to education in the area of Machine Learning for Signal Processing.
2013	Dimitris Manolakis, for fundamental contributions to education in signal processing and algorithms for adaptive filtering and hyperspectral target detection.
2012	Richard G. Lyons, for sustained success in clarifying the intricacies of signal processing, and significant contributions improving the understanding of, and promoting, practical DSP.
2011	P. P. Vaidyanathan, for fundamental contributions to education in signal processing and multirate filter bank theory and methods.
2010	Richard Baraniuk, for founding and promoting Connexions, a website to develop, use, and share free educational content.
2009	Robert M. Gray, for outstanding contributions to education and mentoring in signal processing.
2008	Bede Liu, for outstanding contributions to graduate and undergraduate education and mentoring in signal processing.
2007	Alan C. Bovik, for broad and lasting contributions to image processing education, including popular and important image processing books, innovative on-line courseware, and for the creation of the leading research and educational journal and conference in the image processing field.
2005	Sanjit Mitra, for outstanding contribution to education and to the writing of scholarly and influential books in the area of digital signal processing.
	Alan Oppenheim, for fundamental contributions to digital signal processing education and for defining the way signal processing is taught and practiced around the world.
2004	Steven Kay, for outstanding contributions in education and in writing scholarly books and texts in the area of statistical signal processing.
2003	John G. Proakis, for fundamental contributions to education through his books on Digital Communications and Digital Signal Processing.

2002	Harry Van Trees, for fundamental contributions to Signal Processing education through his books on Detection, Estimation, and Modulation Theory.
2001	Simon Haykin, for authoring books of high quality, spanning basic signal processing, adaptive filters, communications, neural networks, and intelligent signal processing.
2000	James H. McClellan, Ronald W. Schafer and Mark A. Yoder, for the text, DSP First, the authors have shown how to introduce DSP early in the engineering curriculum and to use it as a vehicle for explaining Engineering ideas.