

## 2021 ICASSP PROGRESS WORKSHOP

June 4-5, 2021

ieeeprogress.org

Join us in the second year of PROmotinG DiveRsity in Signal ProcESSing (PROGRESS), which is an initiative of the IEEE Signal Processing Society designed to motivate, provide information and support women and under-represented minorities in pursuing academic careers in Signal Processing.

At PROGRESS we believe that diversity and inclusion are pillars of innovation. The key to increasing diversity and inclusion in signal processing is a more diverse faculty. Such faculty offer role models and are well positioned to draw women and under-represented minorities to the field and inspire them for excellence.

Attend PROGRESS and discover what a career in academia can offer you.

Attendees will be able to ask questions and find valuable resources as they pursue a successful vocation in academia. Why academia? How do you prepare your application materials? How do you prepare for an interview? What does it take to be successful?

**Attendance is by application only.** Graduate students, undergraduate students, or postdocs who are women or under-represented minorities and are interested in signal processing or related fields are eligible to apply.

**Development grants**, which cover the PROGRESS workshop registration, are available.

Applicants should upload the following materials:

- Applicant's CV
- A brief statement (one page limit) by the applicant describing their experience, career plans, and what
  they expect to get from this workshop (this is optional for general applicants but required for
  development grant applicants)

Accepted applicants will be given a link to register.

Registration will be free for those who have registered for ICASSP 2021.

Deadline for Application Submission: May 10, 2021

Acceptance Notification: May 30, 2021

For questions please contact: info@ieeeprogress.org



## **Organizing Committee**

Athina Petropulu Rutgers University

S. Farokh Atashzar New York University, USA

Abhishek Appaji

B.M.S. College of Engineering, Bangalore, INDIA

K.V.S. Hari

Indian Institute of Science Bangalore, Karnataka, INDIA

Z. Jane Wang

University of British Columbia, CANADA

H. Vicky Zhao

Tsinghua University, CHINA

Conference Management Services, Inc.

College Station, TX

## **Progress Oversight Committee**

Athina Petropulu PROGRESS Director

Distinguished Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Rutgers Univer-

President-Elect, IEEE Signal Processing Society

Tulav Adali

Distinguished University Professor, Computer Science and Electrical Engineering, UMBC, USA

VP Technical Directions, IEEE Signal Processing Society

Stella Batalama

Dean, College of Engineering & Computer Science, Florida Atlantic University, USA

Petar Diurio

Distinguished Professor and Department Chair, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Stony Brook University, USA

Carol Y. Espy-Wilson

Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Maryland, USA

Pascale Fung

Professor, Electronic & Computer Engineering and Computer Science & Engineering

Hong Kong University of Science & Technology (HKUST), HONG KONG Board of Governors, IEEE Signal Processing Society

Woon-Seng GAN

Professor, School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Nanyang Technological University, SINGAPORE

Georgios B. Giannakis

Endowed Chair in Wireless Telecommunications, and McKnight Presidential

Digital Technology Center, Director, University of Minnesota, USA

Anubha Gupta

Professor, IIIT Delhi, INDIA

K.V.S. Hari

Professor, Indian Institute of Science Bangalore, INDIA Vice President-Membership, IEEE Signal Processing Society

Qian, He

Professor, University of Electronics Science and Technology, CHINA

Christian Jutten

Emeritus Professor Univ. Grenoble-Alpes, FRANCE

Lina Karam

Dean, School of Engineering, Lebanese American University, LEBANON Emerita Professor, Arizona State University

Deepa Kundur

Professor and ECE Chair, University of Toronto, CANADA

Zhi-Quan (Tom) Luo

Vice President (Academic), The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen, CHINA

Konstantina Nikita

Professor, National Technical University of Athens, GREECE

Chair, IEEE Greece Section

Ana Isabel Pérez-Neira

Professor, Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, CTTC Research Associate,

Barcelona, SPAIN

Board of Governors, IEEE Signal Processing Society

Islem Rekik

Assistant Professor, Istanbul Technical University, TURKEY

Markus Rupp

University Professor, Techn. Universitaet Wien, AUSTRIA

Roxana Saint-Nom

Project Manager at HipCam Global, Buenos Aires, ARGENTINA Regional Director-at-Large, IEEE Signal Processing Society

Raed Shubair

Professor, Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering, New York University Abu Dhabi, UAE

Regional Director, IEEE Signal Processing Society

Nikos Sidiropoulos

Louis T. Rader Professor and Chair, Electrical and Computer Engineering University of Virginia, USA

Zhi Tian

Professor, George Mason University, USA Board of Governors, IEEE Signal Processing Society

Rabab K. Ward

Professor Emeritus, Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of British Columbia, CANADA

IEEE Director (Division 1X), Past President, IEEE Signal Processing Society

Roy Yates

Distinguished Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Rutgers University, USA