CAMSAP 2013 logo

Welcome from the Program Chairs

Welcome Message from Technical Program Committee Co-Chairs

On behalf of the technical program committee (TPC), we would like to welcome you to the IEEE International Workshop on Computational Advances in Multi-Sensor Adaptive Processing on December 15-18, 2013 - the fifth event in the series of conferences on signal processing, to be held in the beautiful Island, Saint Martin. This year’s program continues CAMSAP’s tradition of presenting outstanding work that breaks new theoretical ground and provides practical insight into signal processing advances. The program includes 140 accepted papers by 389 authors which include 49 regular papers (with an acceptance ratio of 55.7%) and 78 papers in special sessions selected (with an acceptance ratio of 95%) from 190 reviewed submissions.

The program committee invited 6 keynote speeches, entitled as follows.

  • Small Sample Community Detection in Massive Data Sets
  • Alternating Direction Optimization for Imaging and Machine Learning Problems
  • Convex Optimization in Radar and Array Imaging
  • Tensor tools for multi-sensor processing. Conceptual and computational advances.
  • Satellite Communications - Signal Processing Challenges
  • Cyber Attacks on a Power Grid and Counter Measures

The topics range across all aspects of signal processing, from image and vision to speech, and address problems and opportunities across this vast field.
Similarly, the papers came from a rich mix of authors from both academia and industry all over the world. We are holding the CAMSAP 2013 in Saint Martin Island, a beautiful, festive and lively Island. We hope you join us and enjoy this event which has a strong "International" presence as we had submissions from around the world and all continents (43.2% from Europe, Middle East and Africa, 41.5% from North America, 12.3% from Asia/Pacific and 2.9% from Latin America). The final program includes authors from over 35 countries.
The papers are organized into 22 Sessions (Regular and Special Sessions) as follows:

  • New Sensing and Inference Methods for Large-Scale Data
  • Track-Before-Detect (TBD) and Multi-Frame Detection (MFD)
  • Computational Advances in Array Processing I: Parameter Estimation and Decomposition Techniques
  • Distributed Statistical Inference
  • Computational Advances in Array Processing II: Adaptive Beamforming and Radar
  • Distributed and Sensor Networks,
  • Multidimensional and Image Processing
  • Signal Processing for Big Data
  • Superresolution Sensing and Reconstruction
  • Tensor-based Methods for Multi-Sensor Signal Processing
  • Sparse and Low-dimensional Signal Processing
  • Geophysical Signal Processing
  • Signal Processing in Social Networks
  • Beamforming and Array Signal Processing I,
  • Beamforming and Array Signal Processing II: Methods that Exploit Sparsity
  • Advances in Sequential Monte Carlo Methods
  • Spectrum Sensing for Cognitive Radio Systems
  • Radar Array Processing and STAP
  • Signal and Information Processing in Energy Grids
  • Cognitive Radio and Radar Networks
  • Estimation, Learning, and Optimization for the Smart Grids
  • Wireless Communications

On December 15th a student poster competition will be held for three best student paper awards. These papers are selected by votes of the TCP committee amongst 30 accepted papers which have received the highest review scores in the review process.

The technical program also includes 2 tutorials to be held on December 15th.
Two following tutorials will be offered on December 15th:

  • Convex and Non-convex Approaches for Low-Dimensional Models
  • Signal Processing for Power Grid

We had the distinct pleasure of working with an outstanding technical program committee of 43 distinguished researchers, 22 Special Session Chairs and 290 additional Designated Reviewers spanning the globe and drawn from both industry and academia. We are very grateful for their tremendous dedication and hard work giving recommendations purely on the merits of papers. Participating in the CAMSAP TPC was one of the most intense reviewing activities. Papers received on average 3.92 reviews. All papers, (regular and invited) have been reviewed independently and in similar way by best experts. An intensive discussion phase then followed to make the final decision based on the recommendations of reviewers. In total, the 190 submitted papers received 745 completed reviews. The program committee has had uncountable interactions among themselves and in consultation with reviewers along the review process in order to discuss special cases.

As TPC Co-Chairs, we rely on so many who did a tremendous amount of hard work. First, and most importantly, we thank all of the authors for their creative and compelling research -- the conference and the community would not exist without it. We are also very grateful to the Designated Reviewers for their diligence and commitment. We thank Sensor Array and Multichannel Technical Committee for their technical support. We thank EDAS conference management software. We thank the Special Session Chairs for their contributions:

  • Marco Lops
  • Danijela Cabric; Yonina C. Eldar
  • Ali Tajer
  • Maria S. Greco; Luca Sanguinetti
  • Petar M. Djurić
  • Sergiy A. Vorobyov
  • Jarvis Haupt; Volkan Cevher; Philip Schniter
  • Sandip Bose; Daniela Donno; Shuchin Aeron
  • Hamid Krim; Georgios B. Giannakis
  • Venugopal Veeravalli
  • Ioannis Schizas
  • Waheed U. Bajwa; Athina Petropulu
  • André Almeida

We gratefully acknowledge the generous financial support of the U.S. Army Research Office, which sponsored our student travel grants and lower student registration fees.

Saeed Gazor, Queen’s University, Canada
Volkan Cevher, EPFL, Switzerland