2017 IEEE Technical Field Award Recipients Announced

You are here

Inside Signal Processing Newsletter Home Page

Top Reasons to Join SPS Today!

1. IEEE Signal Processing Magazine
2. Signal Processing Digital Library*
3. Inside Signal Processing Newsletter
4. SPS Resource Center
5. Career advancement & recognition
6. Discounts on conferences and publications
7. Professional networking
8. Communities for students, young professionals, and women
9. Volunteer opportunities
10. Coming soon! PDH/CEU credits
Click here to learn more.

News and Resources for Members of the IEEE Signal Processing Society

2017 IEEE Technical Field Award Recipients Announced

The IEEE Board of Directors has approved the 2017 IEEE Technical Field Awards. The complete list of recipients and their citations is online at www.ieee.org/awards. Please feel free to send your notes of congratulations and to publicize the recipients within your other IEEE and professional affiliations.

The following list reflects signal processing related and/or SPS Member award recipients:

The IEEE James L. Flanagan Speech and Audio Processing Award recognizes outstanding contribution to the advancement of speech and/or audio signal processing was awarded to Mark Yoffe Liberman “for pioneering contributions to and continued leadership in robust, replicable, and data-driven speech and language science and engineering.”

The IEEE Fourier Award for Signal Processing recognizes an outstanding contribution to the advancement of signal processing, other than in the areas of speech and audio processing was awarded to Russ Mersereau “for sustained technical contributions to multidimensional digital signal processing.”

The IEEE Joseph F. Keithley Award in Instrumentation and Measurement recognizes outstanding contributions in electrical measurements was awarded to Jerome John Blair “for contributions to test procedures for analog-to-digital and digital-to-analog converters and to enhanced-accuracy gamma-ray spectrometry.”

The IEEE Leon K. Kirchmayer Graduate Teaching Award recognizes inspirational teaching of graduate students in the IEEE fields of interest was awarded to C.-C. Jay Kuo “for inspirational guidance of graduate students and curriculum development in the area of multimedia signal processing.”

The IEEE Donald O. Pederson Award in Solid-State Circuits recognizes outstanding contributions to solid-state circuits was awarded to Takao Nishitani and John S. Thompson “for pioneering real-time programmable digital signal processor architectures.”

Table of Contents:

SPS on Twitter

  • DEADLINE EXTENDED: The 2023 IEEE International Workshop on Machine Learning for Signal Processing is now accepting… https://t.co/NLH2u19a3y
  • ONE MONTH OUT! We are celebrating the inaugural SPS Day on 2 June, honoring the date the Society was established in… https://t.co/V6Z3wKGK1O
  • The new SPS Scholarship Program welcomes applications from students interested in pursuing signal processing educat… https://t.co/0aYPMDSWDj
  • CALL FOR PAPERS: The IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Signal Processing is now seeking submissions for a Special… https://t.co/NPCGrSjQbh
  • Test your knowledge of signal processing history with our April trivia! Our 75th anniversary celebration continues:… https://t.co/4xal7voFER

IEEE SPS Educational Resources

IEEE SPS Resource Center

IEEE SPS YouTube Channel