Signal Processing Society Members Receive IEEE Technical Field Awards

You are here

Inside Signal Processing Newsletter Home Page

Top Reasons to Join SPS Today!

1. IEEE Signal Processing Magazine
2. Signal Processing Digital Library*
3. Inside Signal Processing Newsletter
4. SPS Resource Center
5. Career advancement & recognition
6. Discounts on conferences and publications
7. Professional networking
8. Communities for students, young professionals, and women
9. Volunteer opportunities
10. Coming soon! PDH/CEU credits
Click here to learn more.

News and Resources for Members of the IEEE Signal Processing Society

Signal Processing Society Members Receive IEEE Technical Field Awards

IEEE has announced the 2012 recipients of the IEEE Technical Field Awards. Signal Processing Society members were recipients of 5 of the 25 Technical Field Awards

and are marked with an asterisk below.

The IEEE James L. Flanagan Speech and Audio Processing Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the advancement of speech and/or audio signal processing. The 2012 co-recipients are James Baker, Carnegie Mellon University and Janet Baker*, Saras Institute, "for fundamental contributions to the theory and practice of automatic speech recognition."

The 2012 IEEE Masasu Ibuka Consumer Electronics Award is being represented to Gisle Bjontegaard, Tandberg Telecom; Gary Sullivan*, Microsoft Corporation, and Thomas Wiegand, Berlin University of Technology, "for leadership and technical contributions to the development of the globally deployed vide coding standard H.264/MPEG4-AVC." The IEEE Masasu Ibuka Consumer Electronics Award recognizes outstanding contributions in the field of consumer electronics technology.

The IEEE Joseph F. Keithley Award in Instrumentation and Measurement recognizes outstanding contributions in electrical measurements. The 2012 recipient is Rik Pintelon*, Vrijo Universiteit Brussel, "for the development of innovative system identification methods for measurement applications."

The 2012 IEEE Judith A. Resnik Award is being represented to Pramod Kumar Varshney*, Syracuse University, “for contributions to and leadership in the theory and practice of multisensor data fusion for aerospace and bioengineering applications". The IEEE Judith A. Resnik Award recognizes outstanding contributions to space engineering, within the fields of interest of the IEEE.

The IEEE Leon K. Kirchmayer Graduate Teaching Award recognizes inspirational teaching of graduate students in the IEEE fields of interest. The 2012 recipient is Anthony G. Constantinides*, Imperial College, "for educating, inspiring and mentoring generations of graduate students in digital signal processing and communications throughout the world."

Table of Contents:

SPS on Twitter

  • DEADLINE EXTENDED: The 2023 IEEE International Workshop on Machine Learning for Signal Processing is now accepting…
  • ONE MONTH OUT! We are celebrating the inaugural SPS Day on 2 June, honoring the date the Society was established in…
  • The new SPS Scholarship Program welcomes applications from students interested in pursuing signal processing educat…
  • CALL FOR PAPERS: The IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Signal Processing is now seeking submissions for a Special…
  • Test your knowledge of signal processing history with our April trivia! Our 75th anniversary celebration continues:…

SPS Videos

Signal Processing in Home Assistants


Multimedia Forensics

Careers in Signal Processing             


Under the Radar