Members

You are here

Top Reasons to Join SPS Today!

1. IEEE Signal Processing Magazine
2. Signal Processing Digital Library*
3. Inside Signal Processing Newsletter
4. SPS Resource Center
5. Career advancement & recognition
6. Discounts on conferences and publications
7. Professional networking
8. Communities for students, young professionals, and women
9. Volunteer opportunities
10. Coming soon! PDH/CEU credits
Click here to learn more.

Speech and Language Processing

Technical Committee Members

Chair: Yifan Gong
Microsoft Corp.
Redmond, WA, USA
Email
Term Ends: 12/31/24

 

Vice Chair: Shinji Watanabe
Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Email
Term Ends: 12/31/24

 

Members

Member Area and Affiliation Picture
Arisoy Saraclar, Ebru
Term ends 2025
Natural Language Processing
MEF University
saraclare@mef.edu.tr
web page
Borgstrom, Bengt Jonas
Term ends 2025

Speaker Recognition
MIT Lincoln Laboratory
jonas.borgstrom@ll.mit.edu

Chen, Yun-Nung
Term ends 2024
Dialog Systems
National Taiwan University
y.v.chen@ieee.org
web page
 
Cui, Xiaodong
Term ends 2024
Speech Recognition - Acoustic modeling
IBM T. J. Watson Research Center
cuix@us.ibm.com
Picture of member
Du, Jun
Term ends 2025
Speech Enhancement
University of Science and Technology of China
jundu@ustc.edu.cn
web page
Erzin, Engin
Term ends 2025
Speech Analysis
Koc University
eerzin@ku.edu.tr
web page
Garcia, Paola
Term ends 2026
Speaker Recognition
Johns Hopkins University
Email: lgarci27@jhu.edu
Giacobello, Daniele
Term ends 2024
Speech Enhancement
Apple Inc.
giacobello@gmail.com
web page
Gong, Yifan
Chair
Term ends 2024

Microsoft
Yifan.Gong@microsoft.com web page

Gudnason, Jon
Term ends 2024
Speech Analysis
Reykjavik University
jg@ru.is
web page
Habets, Emanuël
Term ends 2024
Speech Enhancement
International Audio Laboratories Erlangen
emanuel.habets@audiolabs-erlangen.de
web page
Han, Kyu Jeong
Term ends 2025
Speaker Recognition
Amazon Web Services (AWS)
kjhan@ieee.org
Hartmann, William
Term ends 2024
Natural Language Processing
Raytheon BBN Technologies
hartmannw@gmail.com
web page
Hu, Qiong
Term ends 2024
Speech Synthesis
Google Inc.
sandrahuq@gmail.com
web page
Huang, Jing
Term ends 2025
Natural Language Processing
Amazon Alexa AI
jinghuang.zhu@gmail.com
Ito, Nobutaka
Term ends 2026
Speech Enhancement

nobutaka.ito@ieee.org

Karanasou, Penny
Term ends 2025
Speech Synthesis
Amazon
pkarana@amazon.com
Keshet, Joseph
Term ends 2025
Speech Analysis
Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
jkeshet@technion.ac.il
Klabbers, Esther
Term ends 2025
Speech Synthesis
ReadSpeaker
esther.judd@readspeaker.com
 
Kurata, Gakuto
Term ends 2024
Speech Recognition - Other
IBM Research - Tokyo
gakuto@jp.ibm.com
web page
Picture of member
Lee, Hung-yi
Term ends 2026

Speech Recognition - Other
National Taiwan University
hungyilee@ntu.edu.tw

 
Lee, Kong-Aik
Term ends 2024

Speaker Recognition
Institute for Infocomm Research, A*STAR
lee_kong_aik@i2r.a-star.edu.sg

Picture of member
Li, Bo
Term ends 2026
Speech Recognition - Acoustic Modeling

boboli@gmail.com

Li, Ming
Term ends 2025
Speaker Recognition
Duke Kunshan University
ming.li369@duke.edu
Lin, Chenghua
Term ends 2026
Natural Language Processing

chenghua.lin1@gmail.com

Ling, Zhenhua
Term ends 2026
Speech/Voice Synthesis/Conversion
University of Science and Technology of China
zhling@ustc.edu.cn
Liu, Yang
Term ends 2024
Natural Language Processing
Amazon, Alexa AI. 
yangliud@amazon.com 
Mi, Haitao
Term ends 2025
Natural Language Processing
Tencent America
haitaominlp@gmail.com
Narayanan, Arun
Term ends 2025
Speech Recognition - Other
Google, Inc
arunnt@google.com
web page
Picture of member
O'Shaughnessy, Douglas
Term ends 2026
Speech Analysis
INRS, U. of Quebec
dougo@emt.inrs.ca
Ou, Zhijian
Term ends 2025
Speech Recognition - Other
Tsinghua University
ozj@tsinghua.edu.cn
web page
Oyman, Sibel
Term ends 2024
Natural Language Processing
Apple Inc.
soyman@apple.com
web page
Penn, Gerald
Term ends 2024
Natural Language Processing
University of Toronto
gpenn@cs.toronto.edu
web page
Prabhavalkar, Rohit
Term ends 2024
Speech Recognition - Acoustic Modeling
Google
rohitprabhavalkar@gmail.com
web page
Picture of member
Qian, Yanmin
Term ends 2024
Speech Recognition - Other
Shanghai Jiao Tong University
yanminqian@gmail.com
web page
Sainath, Tara
Term ends 2025
Speech Recognition - Acoustic Modeling
Google
tsainath@google.com
Sakti, Sakriani
Term ends 2026
Dialog Systems
Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (JAIST), NAIST, and RIKEN AIP
ssakti@jaist.ac.jp
Saraclar, Murat
Term ends 2026
Natural Language Processing
muratsaraclar@ieee.org
Shi, Yangyang
Term ends 2026
Speech Recognition - Acoustic Modeling
shiyang1983@gmail.com
Siniscalchi, Sabato Marco
Term ends 2026
Speech Production and Perception
Università degli Studi di Palermo (UNIPA)
Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)
siniscalchi77.19@gmail.com
Sisman, Berrak
Term ends 2024
Speech Synthesis
University of Texas at Dallas
berrak.sisman@utdallas.edu
web page
Skoglund, Jan
Term ends 2026

Speech Coding
Google
jks@google.com
web page

Tan, Zheng-Hua
Term ends 2026
Speech Enhancement
zt@es.aau.dk
Thomas, Samuel
Term ends 2026
Speech Recognition - Other
sthomas@us.ibm.com
Tsao, Yu
Term ends 2026

Speech Enhancement
Academia Sinica
yu.tsao@citi.sinica.edu.tw
web page

 
Villalba, Jesus
Term ends 2026

Speaker Recognition
Johns Hopkins University
jesus.antonio.villalba@gmail.com
web page

 
Wang, Lei
Term ends 2026
Speaker Recognition
wang3stones@outlook.com
Wang, Yongqiang
Term ends 2026
Speech Recognition - Acoustic Modeling
yongqiang.seagull@gmail.com
Watanabe, Shinji
Vice Chair
Term ends 2026

Speech Recognition - Acoustic Modeling
Carnegie Mellon University
shinjiw@ieee.org

Wu, Zhizheng
Term ends 2026

Speech Synthesis
Facebook
wuzhizheng@gmail.com
web page

 
Xie, Lei
Term ends 2024
Speech Synthesis
Northwestern Polytechnical University
xielei21st@gmail.com
web page
Xu, Yong
Term ends 2025
Speech Analysis
Tencent America
yong.xu.ustc@gmail.com
Yoshino, Koichiro
Term ends 2025
Natural Language Processing
Institute of Physical and Chemical Research (RIKEN)
koichiro.yoshino@riken.jp
Zhang, Yu
Term ends 2025
Speech Synthesis
Google
sjtuzy@gmail.com
 
Zhang, Shi-Xiong
Term ends 2026
Speech Recognition - Acoustic Modeling
zhangshixiong@gmail.com
Yu, Dong

Advisory Member
Tencent AI Lab
dongyu@ieee.org

Picture of member
Fosler-Lussier, Eric

Advisory Member
The Ohio State University
fosler@cse.ohio-state.edu

 
Picheny, Michael Advisory Member
NYU
michael.picheny@nyu.edu

 

 

SPS on Twitter

  • DEADLINE EXTENDED: The 2023 IEEE International Workshop on Machine Learning for Signal Processing is now accepting… https://t.co/NLH2u19a3y
  • ONE MONTH OUT! We are celebrating the inaugural SPS Day on 2 June, honoring the date the Society was established in… https://t.co/V6Z3wKGK1O
  • The new SPS Scholarship Program welcomes applications from students interested in pursuing signal processing educat… https://t.co/0aYPMDSWDj
  • CALL FOR PAPERS: The IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Signal Processing is now seeking submissions for a Special… https://t.co/NPCGrSjQbh
  • Test your knowledge of signal processing history with our April trivia! Our 75th anniversary celebration continues:… https://t.co/4xal7voFER

IEEE SPS Educational Resources

IEEE SPS Resource Center

IEEE SPS YouTube Channel