You are here

Top Reasons to Join SPS Today!

1. IEEE Signal Processing Magazine
2. Signal Processing Digital Library*
3. Inside Signal Processing Newsletter
4. SPS Resource Center
5. Career advancement & recognition
6. Discounts on conferences and publications
7. Professional networking
8. Communities for students, young professionals, and women
9. Volunteer opportunities
10. Coming soon! PDH/CEU credits
Click here to learn more.

Speech and Language Processing

Technical Committee


Awards and Membership Honors
(Chair: Julia Hirschberg, Vice Chair: Michael Picheny, Members: Reinhold Haeb-Umbach, Erik McDermott, Abeer Alwan, Jasha Droppo)

Manage the SPS awards nomination process for the TC. Conduct awards election and identify final nominations. The list of awards are available on the SPS website.

(Chair: Marc Delcroix, Vice Chair: Yang Liu, Members: Engin Erzin, Jun Du, Takaaki Hori)

Assist the Signal Processing Society in evaluating proposals for challenge competitions demonstrating advances in signal processing technology.  Fosters development of new challenges in the speech and language processing domain.

(Chair: Andrew Rosenberg, Vice Chair: Heidi Christensen, Members: Asli Celikyilmaz, Patrick Nguyen, Takuya Yoshika, Xiaodong Cui)

Expand the circulation and maintain the TC newsletter in the areas outlined in our EDICS. Ensure that the newsletter is easily accessible and enable the larger community to participate in writing articles and providing views and suggestions in the form of blogs or other similar means. Manage and maintain the SLTC website and SLTC-SPS mailing list.

Conference Support
(Chair: Marc Delcroix, Vice Chair: Chiori Hori, Members: Mounya Elhilali, Tomohiro Nakataki, Rohit Prabhavalkar, Esther Klabbers)

Helps maintain the reviewer pool to provide for a robust review process at ICASSP and TC-affiliated workshops.  Maintains the EDICS, in concert with relevant SPS journals.

External Relations
(Chair: Visar Berisha, Vice Chair: Greg Sell, Members: Masami Akamine, Ville Hautamäki, Ozlem Kalini, Sabato Marco Siniscaichi, Mahnoosh Mehrabani)

Strengthen the relationship of the TC with other international societies that have interest in the areas outlined in the TC EDICS. Establish joint activities and sponsored events.

ICASSP Area Chairs
(Chair: Eric Fosler-Lussier, Vice Chair: Dong Yu, Members: Marc DelCroix, Jinyu Li, Ani Nenkova, Prasanta Kumar Ghosh, Kong Aik Lee, Odette Sharenborg)

Manage the ICASSP review process including assignment of reviewers to papers, coordinating meta-reviews by SLTC members, making final decisions, allocating papers to sessions, and inviting session chairs.

Member Election
(Chair: Koichi Shinoda, Vice Chair: Ebru Arisoy, Members: Sadao Hiroya, Takehiro Moriya, Gakuto Kurata, Antonio Bonafonte)

Manage the TC member election process. Solicit candidates in the areas identified in the TC EDICS, conduct the election, and identify finalists.

Student Awards
(Chair: Yun-Nung Chen, Vice Chair: Ming Li, Members: Nancy Chen, Thomas Drugman, Arun Narayanan, Fred Richardson)

Manage the ICASSP student awards process for the speech and language area. Identify finalists.

(Chair: Jason Williams, Vice Chair: Kyu Han, Members: Raul Fernandez, Zhijian Ou, Helen Hastie)

Promote having IEEE-sponsored workshops in the areas outlined in the TC EDICS. Conduct an election should multiple proposals be submitted for any given event. Provide new workshop organizers with the help necessary to get them started in organizing their event.

HLT-ACL board liaison (Julia Hirschberg)

Help strengthen the representation of speech technology within the HLT-ACL board. All members of this committee are also members of the HLT-ACL board.

SPS Board liaison (Li Deng, Mari Ostendorf)

The members of this committee are typically guest members of SLTC who are also part of one or more SPS boards.

Industry (Hagen Soltau, Ozlem Kalini)

Support the Membership Board in liaising with industry and government regarding the activities of the SLTC.

SPS on Twitter

  • The virtual conference is powered by leading companies who have continued to show their support for our t…
  • The virtual conference begins today! Join us all week long for an exciting week of inspiring, innovative…
  • Learn what's new with Society activities during the SPS Town Hall! Join SPS President Ahmed Tewfik on Wednesday, 28…
  • DEADLINE EXTENDED: The application deadline for PROGRESS at has been extended to Tuesday, 20 October. Det…
  • On Wednesday, 28 October, join Stefania Sardellitti for a new SPS Webinar, “Joint Optimization of Radio and Computa…

SPS Videos

Signal Processing in Home Assistants


Multimedia Forensics

Careers in Signal Processing             


Under the Radar