Members and Associate Members

You are here

Top Reasons to Join SPS Today!

1. IEEE Signal Processing Magazine
2. Signal Processing Digital Library*
3. Inside Signal Processing Newsletter
4. SPS Resource Center
5. Career advancement & recognition
6. Discounts on conferences and publications
7. Professional networking
8. Communities for students, young professionals, and women
9. Volunteer opportunities
10. Coming soon! PDH/CEU credits
Click here to learn more.

Audio and Acoustic Signal Processing


Gaël RichardChair: Gaël Richard
Télécom Paris
LTCI, France 
(Term Ends 12/31/22)



Paris SmaragdisVice Chair: Paris Smaragdis
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Urbana, IL, USA
(Term Ends 12/31/21) 




TC Membership Nominations

Nominations to the Technical Committee on Audio and Acoustic Signal Processing are invited. If you wish to make any nominations please complete the TC Membership Nomination Form by September 15. Please send the completed forms together with a full CV to Minje Kim (minje AT indiana DOT edu),  and to the AASP TC Chair Paris Smaragdis (paris AT illinois DOT edu).

We strongly encourage the experts from underrepresented social groups and regions to apply for our membership.

Candidates can be self-nominated or nominated by Technical Committee members. Each nominee must confirm in writing his willingness to serve and perform the duties described in the Society Bylaws and Policies and Procedures. Each nominee must also submit a one-page position statement and vitae to be distributed before the election. Current and past TC members are eligible to be nominated for a second term. Additional terms are allowed, but at least a 3 year gap in service is required.


Fabio Antonacci Politecnico di Milano, Italy 2022
Nicholas Bryan CCRMA Stanford University 2022
Mads Græsbøll Christensen Aalborg University, Denmark 2020
Hélène-Camille Crayencour CNRS, Laboratoire des Signaux et Systèmes,
Univ. Paris Saclay, France
Antoine Deleforge Inria Nancy, France 2020
Simon Doclo University of Oldenburg, Germany 2022
Dan Ellis Columbia University, NY, USA 2022
Gerald Enzner Ruhr Universität Bochum 2022
Christine Evers University of Southampton, UK 2021
Tiago Falk University of Quebec, Canada 2020
Timo Gerkmann University of Hamburg, Germany 2020
Daniele Giacobello Apple, CA, USA 2021
Richard Hendriks Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands 2022
Jesper Rindom Jensen Aalborg University Denmark  2021
Hirokazu Kameoka NTT Communication Science Laboratories, Tokyo, Japan 2022
Minje Kim Indiana University Bloomington, USA 2020
Keisuke Kinoshita NTT Communication Science Laboratories, Japan 2020
Ina Kodrasi Idiap Research Institute, Martigny, Switzerland 2021
Zbynek Koldovsky TU Liberec 2022
Nobutaka Ito NTT Corporation 2022
Antoine Liutkus INRIA, France 2021
Heinrich Löllmann Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany 2021
Michael Mandel Brooklyn College, NY, USA 2022
Alexey Ozerov InterDigital, France 2020
Justin Salamon New York University 2022
Romain Serizel Loria - Université de Lorraine 2022
Umut Simsekli Telecom ParisTech, Université Paris-Saclay Paris, France  2021
Jan Skoglund Google Research, CA, USA 2022
Paris Smaragdis University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA 2020
  [TC Chair]  
Zafar Rafii Gracnote, USA 2020
Ronen Talmon Technion - IIT, Israel 2020
Heinz Teutsch mh acoustics LLC, USA 2020
Tuomas Virtanen Tampere University, Finland 2021
  [Subcommittee Chair: Challenges]  
Mark Thomas Dolby Laboratories, USA 2020
Toon Van Waterschoot KU Leuven, Belgium 2021
Scott Wisdom Google 2022
Kazuyoshi Yoshii Kyoto University 2022
Tao Zhang Starkey Hearing Technologies, USA 2020


Associate Members

Patrick A. Naylor Imperial College, UK
Sharon Gannot Bar-Ilan University, Israel
Shoji Makino Tsukuba University
Akihiko Sugiyama NEC Corporation, Japan
Walter Kellermann Friedrich-Alexander University, Germany
Michael M. Goodwin Audience, Inc., USA
Michael S. Brandstein  MIT Lincon Laboratories, USA

SPS on Twitter

  • Join us on Friday, 21 May at 1:00 PM EST when Dr. Amir Asif (York University) shares his journey and the importance…
  • There's still time to apply for PROGRESS! Visit to connect with signal processing leaders a…
  • This Saturday, 8 May, join the SPS JSS Academy of Technical Education Noida Student Branch Chapter in collaboration…
  • The SPACE Webinar Series continues this Tuesday, 4 May at 10:00 AM Eastern when Dr. Lei Tian presents "Modeling and…
  • The second annual IEEE SIGHT Day will take place on 28 April! This year’s theme is “Celebrating 10 years of IEEE SI…

SPS Videos

Signal Processing in Home Assistants


Multimedia Forensics

Careers in Signal Processing             


Under the Radar