Activity Update from the SPTM TC

You are here

Inside Signal Processing Newsletter Home Page

Top Reasons to Join SPS Today!

1. IEEE Signal Processing Magazine
2. Signal Processing Digital Library*
3. Inside Signal Processing Newsletter
4. SPS Resource Center
5. Career advancement & recognition
6. Discounts on conferences and publications
7. Professional networking
8. Communities for students, young professionals, and women
9. Volunteer opportunities
10. Coming soon! PDH/CEU credits
Click here to learn more.

News and Resources for Members of the IEEE Signal Processing Society

Activity Update from the SPTM TC

by Xiaoli Ma (SPTM Liaison to E-Newsletter)

Xiaoli MaThe Signal Processing Theory and Methods Technical Committee (SPTM TC) of the IEEE Signal Processing Society (IEEE-SPS) has elected seven new members from 2012: Aleksander Dogandzic (Iowa State University, USA), Rémi Gribonval (INRIA Rennes - Bretagne Atlantique, France), Wing-Kin (Ken) Ma (The Chinese University of Hong Kong), Pina Marziliano (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore), V John Mathews (University of Utah, USA), Arye Nehorai (Washington University in St. Louis, USA), Konstantinos Slavakis (University of Peloponnese, Greece).

The IEEE Workshop on Statistical Signal Processing 2011 (SSP2011) was successfully held in Nice France on June 28-30, 2011. Five well-known keynote speakers gave excellent speeches: Yaakov Bar-Shalom (UConn), Michael Jordan (UC, Berkeley), Vikram Krishnamurthy (The University of British Columbia), Stéphane Malla (Ecole Polytechnique), Pramod Varshney (Syracuse University). SSP2011 was well organized with more than 200 accepted technical papers in 30 sessions, the authors from 42 different countries, and about 240 attendees.

The IEEE Workshop on Statistical Signal Processing 2012 (SSP2012) will be held in Ann Arbor, Michigan on Aug. 5-7, 2012. The organizing committee reports that everything is on track at the moment. Six distinguished plenary speakers have accepted the invitation to speak at the meeting: Yoram Bresler (UIUC), Persi Diaconis (Stanford), Yonina Eldar (Technion), Robert Ghrist (UPenn), Randy Moses (Ohio State), Rob Nowak (Wisconsin). There was an excellent response to the call for special sessions and there will be nine special sessions at SSP 2012. All special sessions are poster and the papers are reviewed, just like regular papers. We expect a great success for this workshop in August.

Table of Contents:


IEEE SPS Educational Resources

IEEE SPS Resource Center

IEEE SPS YouTube Channel