IEEE Signal Processing Cup 2019

You are here

Top Reasons to Join SPS Today!

1. IEEE Signal Processing Magazine
2. Signal Processing Digital Library*
3. Inside Signal Processing Newsletter
4. SPS Resource Center
5. Career advancement & recognition
6. Discounts on conferences and publications
7. Professional networking
8. Communities for students, young professionals, and women
9. Volunteer opportunities
10. Coming soon! PDH/CEU credits
Click here to learn more.

IEEE Signal Processing Cup 2019

Search & Rescue with Drone-Embedded Sound Source Localization



The IEEE Signal Processing Society is proud to announce the sixth edition of the Signal Processing Cup: an exciting audio-based drone-embedded search and rescue challenge.

Goal: Building a system capable of localizing a sound source based on audio recordings made with an 8- channel microphone array embedded in an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV).

Eligibility: Any team composed of one faculty member, at most one graduate student and 3-10 undergraduate students is welcomed to join the open competition.

Dataset: A novel dataset of UAV-embedded microphone-array recordings is provided for the challenge.

Prize: The three teams with highest performance in the open competition will be selected as finalists and will be invited to participate in the final competition at ICASSP 2019. The champion team will receive a grand prize of $5,000. The first and the second runner-up will receive a prize of $2,500 and $1,500, respectively, in addition to travel grants and complimentary conference registrations.

Important Dates

  • Data release: November 14, 2018
  • Submission deadline: March 11, 2019
  • Finalists announcement: March 20, 2019
  • Final @ICASSP: May 12-17, 2019

Finalist Teams

Team Name: AGH
AGH University of Science and Technology
Supervisor: Jakub Gałka
Tutor: Szymon Woźniak

Piotr Walas, Mateusz Guzik,
Mieszko Fraś

Team Name: Idea!_ssu
Soongsil University
Supervisor: Sungbin Im
Tutor: Beomhee Jang

Donggun Lee, Myeonghun Jeong,
Minjae Park, Youngjae Lee,
Jinyoung Son

Team Name: Shout COOEE!
University of New South Wales
Supervisor: Vidhyasaharan Sethu

Antoni Dimitriadis, Alvin Wong,
Ethan Oo, Jennifer Jingyao,
Prasanth Parasu, Qingbei Cheng,
Hayden Ooi, Kevin Yu


IEEE Technical Committee for Audio and Acoustic Signal Processing (AASP)
IEEE Autonomous System Initiative



IEEE SPS Educational Resources

IEEE SPS Resource Center

IEEE SPS YouTube Channel