You are here

Top Reasons to Join SPS Today!

1. IEEE Signal Processing Magazine
2. Signal Processing Digital Library*
3. Inside Signal Processing Newsletter
4. SPS Resource Center
5. Career advancement & recognition
6. Discounts on conferences and publications
7. Professional networking
8. Communities for students, young professionals, and women
9. Volunteer opportunities
10. Coming soon! PDH/CEU credits
Click here to learn more.

Multimedia Signal Processing

Technical Committee


Awards Subcommittee

Chair:  Chia-Wen Lin
Members: Fengqing Maggie Zhu, Guo-Jun Qi

  • Issue open call for SPS awards nominations.
  • Manage awards voting among TC members and identify endorsed nominations.
  • Submit endorsed nominations to the SPS Awards Board.

Nominations and Elections Subcommittee

Chair: Chaker Larabi
Members:  Lu Zhang, Jiwen Lu

  • Solicit nominations for new members and other roles (i.e., liaisons) that the TC nominates
  • Conduct various elections and approval votes


Conferences & Workshops Subcommittee

Chair: Mylene Farias
Members:  Nikos Thomos, Atanas Gotchev, Wen-Huang Cheng

  • Prepare and disseminate open call for future MMSP workshops.
  • Discuss support and involvement of TC in related workshops and conferences, such as ICME.
  • Evaluate and make recommendation to the TC on events seeking technical co-sponsorship.
  • Organize post-conference/workshop surveys, analyze results, propose future improvements


Technical Directions Subcommittee

Chair: Wanqing Li
Members: Tanaya Guha, Jian Zhang

  • Monitor submission statistics for various EDICS in ICASSP and tracks in MMSP 
  • Manage and maintain the EDICS for the TC and ensure it is being used consistently in all TC related conferences and workshops
  • Propose areas where new members should be recruited
  • Work with the Editor-in-Chief's of IEEE Transactions on Multimedia and the various SP Society Transactions to ensure that MMSP areas are accurately represented in the EDICS of these Transactions
  • Look for collaboration opportunities with other TCs and groups in SPS

Industry/Government Subcommittee

Chair: Shan Liu
Members: Athanasios Mouchtaris, Dong Tian

  • Looks for and engages in opportunities for greater interaction with Industry and Government.

Communications and Media Subcommittee

Chair: John See
Members: Mai Xu, Aladine Chetouani

  • Maintain the TC web site together with SPS staff
  • Maintain TC social media channels
  • Maintain lists of active Associate and Affiliate Members

Education Subcommittee

Chair: Antonio Pinheiro
Members: Azeddine Beghdadi, Ivan Bajic

  • Look for and engage in activities that provide educational opportunities for the MMSP research community
  • Solicit proposals for summer schools, online talks and seminars
  • Supports SPS educational activities through SPS Education Board

Student Subcommittee

Chair: Dan Zeng
Members:  Yuxin Peng, Marc Antonini

  • Look for and engage in opportunities for greater interaction and involvement of students with the TC activities and events
  • Support SPS student-focused activities such as Grand Challenges and SP Cups

Area Chair and Reviewer Subcommittee

Chair: Ali Begen
Members: Balu Adsumilli, Junhui Hou, Jong-Seok Lee

  • Maintain lists of active Area Chairs and Reviewers for conferences and journals supported by the TC

Diversity & Inclusion Subcommittee

Chair: Wei Hu
Members: Federica Battisti, Marco Carli

  • Develop strategies to promote diversity and inclusion within the TC and broader community
  • Help solicit member nominations to support TC's diversity and inclusion goals
  • Support SPS diversity and inclusion activities


SPS on Twitter

  • DEADLINE EXTENDED: The 2023 IEEE International Workshop on Machine Learning for Signal Processing is now accepting…
  • ONE MONTH OUT! We are celebrating the inaugural SPS Day on 2 June, honoring the date the Society was established in…
  • The new SPS Scholarship Program welcomes applications from students interested in pursuing signal processing educat…
  • CALL FOR PAPERS: The IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Signal Processing is now seeking submissions for a Special…
  • Test your knowledge of signal processing history with our April trivia! Our 75th anniversary celebration continues:…

IEEE SPS Educational Resources

IEEE SPS Resource Center

IEEE SPS YouTube Channel