SA-TWG Webinar: Fully Adaptive Radar

Date: 23 February 2024
Time: 10:00 AM ET (New York Time)
Speaker(s): Dr. Muralidhar Rangaswamy


This seminar will provide an overview of adaptive radar processing from the standpoint of bringing to bear optimally and adaptively, all available degrees of freedom on transmit and receive to address the problem of detection, tracking, and classification from a single as well as a multi-sensor perspective. The idea of closed loop radar processing will be introduced. Pertinent research challenges will be identified and ameliorating solutions will be discussed. Important issues of training data heterogeneity, computational cost, waveform optimization and design for closed loop radar detection and tracking as well as joint transmit-receive adaptive radar processing will be presented


Muralidhar Rangaswamy (S’89, M’93, SM’98, F’2006) received the B.E. degree in Electronics Engineering from Bangalore University, Bangalore, India in 1985 and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from Syracuse University, Syracuse, NY, in 1992. He is presently employed as the Senior Advisor for Radar Research at the RF Exploitation Branch within the Sensors Directorate of the Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL). Prior to this he has held industrial and academic appointments.

His research interests include radar signal processing, spectrum estimation, modeling non-Gaussian interference phenomena, and statistical communication theory. He has co-authored more than 180 refereed journal and conference record papers in the areas of his research interests. Additionally, he is a contributor to 8 books and is a co-inventor on 3 U.S. patents.

Dr. Rangaswamy is the Technical Editor (Associate Editor-in-Chief) for Radar Systems in the IEEE Transactions on Aerospace and Electronic Systems (IEEE-TAES). He served as the Co-Editor-in-Chief for the Digital Signal Processing journal between 2005 and 2011. Dr. Rangaswamy serves on the Senior Editorial Board of the IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Signal Processing (Jan 2012-Dec 2014). He was a 2-term elected member of the sensor array and multichannel processing technical committee (SAM-TC) of the IEEE Signal Processing Society between January 2005 and December 2010 and serves as a member of the Radar Systems Panel (RSP) in the IEEE-AES Society. He was the General Chairman for the 4th IEEE Workshop on Sensor Array and Multichannel Processing (SAM-2006), Waltham, MA, July 2006. Dr. Rangaswamy has served on the Technical Committee of the IEEE Radar Conference series in a myriad of roles (Track Chair, Session Chair, Special Session Organizer and Chair, Paper Selection Committee Member, Tutorial Lecturer). He served as the Publicity Chair for the First IEEE International Conference on Waveform Diversity and Design, Edinburgh, U.K. November 2004. He presently serves on the conference sub-committee of the RSP. He is the Technical Program Chairman for the 2014 IEEE Radar Conference.

He received the IEEE Warren White Radar Award in 2013, the 2013 Affiliate Societies Council Dayton (ASC-D) Outstanding Scientist and Engineer Award, the 2007 IEEE Region 1 Award, the 2006 IEEE Boston Section Distinguished Member Award, and the 2005 IEEE-AESS Fred Nathanson memorial outstanding young radar engineer award. He was elected as a Fellow of the IEEE in January 2006 with the citation “for contributions to mathematical techniques for radar space-time adaptive processing”. He received the 2012 and 2005 Charles Ryan basic research award from the Sensors Directorate of AFRL, in addition to more than 40 scientific achievement awards.