49 SPS Members Elevated to IEEE Fellow

You are here

Inside Signal Processing Newsletter Home Page

Top Reasons to Join SPS Today!

1. IEEE Signal Processing Magazine
2. Signal Processing Digital Library*
3. Inside Signal Processing Newsletter
4. SPS Resource Center
5. Career advancement & recognition
6. Discounts on conferences and publications
7. Professional networking
8. Communities for students, young professionals, and women
9. Volunteer opportunities
10. Coming soon! PDH/CEU credits
Click here to learn more.

News and Resources for Members of the IEEE Signal Processing Society

49 SPS Members Elevated to IEEE Fellow

The IEEE Signal Processing Society congratulates the following 49 SPS members who were recognized with the grade of Fellow as of 1 January 2011:

Mohamed Abdel-Mottaleb, Coral Gables, FL: for contributions to biometrics, content-based image and video retrieval, and digital mammography.

Mark Bell, West Lafayette, IN: for contributions to signal design and processing in radar and communication systems.

Shuvra Bhattacharyya, College Park, MD: for contributions to design optimization for signal processing.

Holger Boche, Berlin, Germany: for contributions to signal processing and multi-user wireless communications.

Wayne Burleson, Amherst, MA: for contributions to integrated circuit design and signal processing.

Jonathon Chambers, Loughborough, Leicestershire, UK: for contributions to adaptive signal processing and its applications.

Marco Chiani, Bologna, Italy: for contributions to wireless communication systems.

Pak Chung Ching, Shatin, Hong Kong, China: for leadership in engineering education and accreditation.

Ajay Divakaran (from Sarnoff Corporation), Princeton, NJ: for contributions to multimedia content analysis.

Emad Ebbini, Minneapolis, MN: for contributions to ultrasound temperature imaging and dual-mode ultrasound.

Elza Erkip, Brooklyn, NY: for contributions to multi-user and cooperative communications.

Moncef Gabbouj, Tampere, Finland: for contributions to nonlinear signal processing and video communication.

Mark Gales, Cambridge, UK: for contributions to acoustic modeling for speech recognition.

David Gesbert, Sophia-Antipolis, France: for contributions to multi-antenna and multi-user communication theory and their applications.

Maria Greco, Pisa, Italy: for contributions to non-Gaussian radar clutter modeling and signal processing algorithms.

Arun Hampapur, Yorktown Heights, NY: for contributions to video indexing, video search and surveillance systems.

Robert Heath, Austin, TX: for contributions to multiple antenna wireless communications.

Visa Koivunen, Aalto, Finland: for contributions to statistical signal processing for multichannel signals and sensor arrays.

Ying-Chang Liang (from Institute for Infocomm Research), Singapore: for contributions to cognitive radio communications.

Johan Paul Linnartz (from Eindhoven University of Technolog), Eindhoven, The Netherlands: for leadership in security with noisy data.

Te-Won Lee, San Diego, CA: for contributions to independent component algorithm analysis.

Shipeng Li, Beijing, China: for contributions to the advancement of image and video coding.

Patrick Loughlin, Pittsburgh, PA: for contributions to time-frequency analysis and nonstationary signal processing.

Wei-Ying Ma, Beijing, China: for contributions to multimedia information retrieval.

Rainer Martin, Bochum, Germany: for contributions to speech enhancement for mobile communications and hearing aids.

Stephen McLaughlin, Edinburgh, Lothian, Scotland, UK: for contributions to statistical and nonlinear signal processing techniques in communication systems.

Nasir Memon, Brooklyn, NY: for contributions to media security and compression.

Asoke Nandi, Liverpool, UK: for contributions to signal processing and its applications.

Hermann Ney, Aachen, Gemany: for contributions to statistical language modeling, statistical machine translation, and large vocabulary speech recognition.

Christof Paar, Bochum, Germany: for contributions to cryptographic engineering.

Eric Pottier, Rennes, Bretagne, France: for contributions to polarimetric specific absorption rate.

Susanto Rahardja, Singapore: for leadership in digital audio and signal processing.

Philippe Salembier, Barcelona, Spain: for contributions to region-based image analysis and mathematical morphology for compression and indexing.

Anna Scaglione, Davis, CA: for contributions to filterbank precoding for wireless transmission and signal processing for cooperative sensor networks.

Laurence Simar, Richmond, TX: for leadership in digital signal processor architecture development.

Andreas Stolcke, Menlo Park, CA: for contributions to statistical language modeling, automatic speech recognition and understanding, and automatic speaker recognition.

Akihiko Sugiyama (from NEC Corporation), Kawasaki, Kanazawa, Japan: for contributions to speech and audio signal processing.

Qibin Sun, Singapore: for contributions to multimedia security.

Myung Sunwoo, Suwon, Gyeonggi-Do, Korea: for contributions to multimedia and communications.

Isabel Trancoso, Lisbon, Portugal: for sustained contributions to speech technology, especially in the provision of research in and resources for the Portuguese language.

Mitchell Trott, Palo Alto, CA: for contributions to wireless communication.

Vinay Vaishampayan, Florham Park, NJ: for contributions to error-resilient compression systems.

Anthony Vetro, Cambridge, MA: for contributions to video coding, three-dimensional television, and multimedia adaptation.

Narayanan Vijaykrishnan, University Park, PA: for contributions to power-aware systems and estimation tools.

Emanuele Viterbo, Rende, Italy: for contributions to coding and decoding for wireless digital communications.

Li-Chun Wang, Hsinchu, Taiwan: for contributions to cellular architectures and radio resource management in wireless networks.

Min Wu, College Park, MD: for contributions to multimedia security and forensics.

Xiaolin Wu, Hamilton, ON, Canada: for contributions to image coding, communication and processing.

Fan-Gang Zeng, Irvine, CA: for contributions to metrology techniques for electromagnetic compatibility.

Each year, the IEEE Board of Directors confers the grade of Fellow on up to one-tenth percent of the members. To qualify for consideration, an individual must have been a Member, normally for five years or more, and a Senior Member at the time for nomination to Fellow. The grade of Fellow recognizes unusual distinction in IEEE’s designated fields.  Visit also this SPS webpage for full citations of these new fellows and more information about the Fellow program. Nominations are now being accepted till March 1, 2011 for the IEEE Fellow Class of 2012.

Table of Contents:

SPS on Twitter

  • DEADLINE EXTENDED: The 2023 IEEE International Workshop on Machine Learning for Signal Processing is now accepting… https://t.co/NLH2u19a3y
  • ONE MONTH OUT! We are celebrating the inaugural SPS Day on 2 June, honoring the date the Society was established in… https://t.co/V6Z3wKGK1O
  • The new SPS Scholarship Program welcomes applications from students interested in pursuing signal processing educat… https://t.co/0aYPMDSWDj
  • CALL FOR PAPERS: The IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Signal Processing is now seeking submissions for a Special… https://t.co/NPCGrSjQbh
  • Test your knowledge of signal processing history with our April trivia! Our 75th anniversary celebration continues:… https://t.co/4xal7voFER

IEEE SPS Educational Resources

IEEE SPS Resource Center

IEEE SPS YouTube Channel