SPS Members Receive 2014 IEEE Awards

You are here

Inside Signal Processing Newsletter Home Page

Top Reasons to Join SPS Today!

1. IEEE Signal Processing Magazine
2. Signal Processing Digital Library*
3. Inside Signal Processing Newsletter
4. SPS Resource Center
5. Career advancement & recognition
6. Discounts on conferences and publications
7. Professional networking
8. Communities for students, young professionals, and women
9. Volunteer opportunities
10. Coming soon! PDH/CEU credits
Click here to learn more.

News and Resources for Members of the IEEE Signal Processing Society

SPS Members Receive 2014 IEEE Awards

IEEE has announced the 2014 recipients of the IEEE Medals, Prize Papers, Technical Field Awards, Service Awards, Corporate Recognitions and/or Honorary Membership awards. The following Signal Processing Society members received IEEE Awards:

Thomas P. Barnwell, III (Georgia Institute of Technology, Vinings, GA, USA) has been selected as the IEEE Jack S. Kilby Signal Processing Medal recipient “for leadership in and contributions to speech processing, filter banks and wavelets, DSP hardware and architectures, and technology-enhanced education.” The medal will be presented to Dr. Barnwell at the IEEE Honors Ceremonies.

The IEEE James H. Mulligan, Jr. Education Medal recognizes a career of outstanding contributions to education in the fields of interest of IEEE, will be presented to John G. Proakis (Northeastern University, Winchester, MA, USA) “for contributions to electrical engineering education through influential textbooks and inspiring leadership in integrating research and education.”

IEEE Dennis J. Picard Medal for Radar Technologies and Applications recognizes outstanding accomplishments in advancing the fields of radar technologies and their applications. The 2014 recipient is Yuri Abramovich (WR Systems Ltd., Fairfax, VA, USA) “for seminal contributions to adaptive radar signal processing algorithms and Over- The- Horizon Radar.”

The IEEE W. R. G. Baker Paper Award recognizing the most outstanding paper reporting original work published in any IEEE archival publications (such as Transactions, Journals, and Letters), Magazines, or Proceedings is award to Stephen J. Wright, Robert Nowak and Mário A. T. Figueiredo for their paper, “Sparse Reconstruction by Separable Approximation”, IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing, vol. 57, no. 7 July 2009.

The IEEE James L. Flanagan Speech and Audio Processing Technical Field Award will be presented to Biing-Hwang Juang (Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA, USA) “for pioneering contributions to automatic speech recognition and speech coding”. This award was founded and is sponsored by the IEEE SPS.

The IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award recognizes outstanding early to mid-career contributions to technologies holding the promise of innovative applications. The award is being presented to George Chrisikos (Qualcomm Inc., San Diego, CA, USA) "for contributions to heterogeneous network architectures with ubiquitous wireless access."

The IEEE Leon K. Kirchmayer Graduate Teaching Award recognizing inspirational teaching of graduate students in the IEEE fields of interest will be presented to John M. Cioffi (Stanford University, Stanford, CA, USA) “for educating a stellar array of graduate students in digital communications and for inspiring them to make a difference.”


IEEE SPS Educational Resources

IEEE SPS Resource Center

IEEE SPS YouTube Channel