51 SPS Members Elevated to Fellow

You are here

Inside Signal Processing Newsletter Home Page

Top Reasons to Join SPS Today!

1. IEEE Signal Processing Magazine
2. Signal Processing Digital Library*
3. Inside Signal Processing Newsletter
4. SPS Resource Center
5. Career advancement & recognition
6. Discounts on conferences and publications
7. Professional networking
8. Communities for students, young professionals, and women
9. Volunteer opportunities
10. Coming soon! PDH/CEU credits
Click here to learn more.

News and Resources for Members of the IEEE Signal Processing Society

51 SPS Members Elevated to Fellow

Each year, the IEEE Board of Directors confers the grade of Fellow on up to one-tenth of one percent of the members. To qualify for consideration, an individual must have been a Member, normally for five years or more, and a Senior Member at the time for nomination to Fellow. The grade of Fellow recognizes unusual distinction in IEEE’s designated fields.

The Signal Processing Society congratulates the following 51 SPS members who were recognized with the grade of Fellow as of 1 January 2015:

Jean Armstrong, Clayton, Australia: for contributions to the theory and application of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing in wireless and optical communications.

Kristine Bell, Reston, Virginia: for contributions to statistical signal processing with radar and sonar applications.

Ewert Bengtsson, Uppsala, Sweden: for contributions to quantitative microscopy and biomedical image analysis.

Daniel Bliss, Tempe, Arizona: for contributions to adaptive sensor systems in radar and communications.

Christian Cachin, Ruschlikon, Switzerland: for contributions to steganography and secure distributed systems.

Joseph Cavallaro, Houston, Texas: for contributions to VLSI architectures and algorithms for signal processing and wireless communications.

Biao Chen, Syracuse, New York: for contributions to decentralized signal processing in sensor networks and interference management of wireless networks.

Israel Cohen, Haifa, Israel: for contributions to the theory and application of speech enhancement.

Iain Collings, Epping, Australia: for contributions to multiple user and multiple antenna wireless communication systems.

Michael Davies, Edinburgh, United Kingdom: for contributions to sparse representations in signal processing and compressed sensing.

Mrouane Debbah, Gif-sur-Yvette, France: for contributions to the theory and application of signal processing in wireless networks.

Lieven De Lathauwer, Leuven, Belgium: for contributions to signal processing algorithms using tensor decompositions.

Gordon Frazer, Edinburgh, Australia: for contributions to advanced over-the-horizon radar.

Pascale Fung, Clear Water Bay, Hong Kong: for contributions to human-machine interactions.

Xiqi Gao, Nanjing, China: for contributions to broadband wireless communications and multirate signal processing.

Monisha Ghosh, Mellville, New York: for contributions to cognitive radio and signal processing for communication systems.

S. Gunasekaran, Rome, New York: for contributions to high-performance computer vision algorithms for airborne applications.

K.V.S. Hari, Bangalore, India: for contributions to high-resolution signal parameter estimation.

Zhihai He, Columbia, Missouri: for contributions to video communication and visual sensing technologies.

Jianying Hu, Yorktown Heights, New York: for contributions to pattern recognition in business and health analytics, and document analysis.

Hong Jiang, Santa Clara, California: for leadership in parallel multimedia computing architectures and systems.

Tzyy-Ping Jung, La Jolla, California: for contributions to blind source separation for biomedical applications.

Simon King, Edinburgh, United Kingdom: for contributions to text-to-speech synthesis and speech technology.

Stefanos Kollias, Athens, Greece: for contributions to intelligent systems for multimedia content analysis and human-machine interaction.

Deepa Kundur, Toronto, Canada: for contributions to signal processing techniques for multimedia and cyber security.

Edmund Lam, Pokfulam, Hong Kong: for contributions to modeling and computational algorithms in imaging applications.

Henry Leung, Calgary, Canada: for contributions to chaotic communications and nonlinear signal processing.

Zicheng Liu, Redmond, Washington: for contributions to visual processing for multimedia interaction.

David Love, West Lafayette, Indiana: for contributions to feedback-adaptive wireless communication systems.

Detlev Marpe, Berlin, Germany: for contributions to video coding research and standardization.

Teresa Pace, Orlando, Florida: for contributions to image and signal processing algorithms for sensor systems.

Mark Plumbley, London, United Kingdom: for contributions to latent variable analysis.

Markus Rupp, Wien, Austria: for contributions to adaptive filters and communication technologies.

Robert Safranek, Warren, New Jersey: for contributions to perceptual image and video compression and quality.

Paris Smaragdis, Urbana, Illinois: for contributions to audio source separation and audio processing.

Hing Cheung So, Kowloon, China: for contributions to spectral analysis and source localization.

Eckehard Steinbach, Munich, Germany: for contributions to visual and haptic communications.

Wonyong Sung, Seoul, Korea: for contributions to real-time signal processing systems.

Johan Suykens, Leuven, Belgium: for developing the least squares support vector machines.

Dacheng Tao, Sydney, Australia: for contributions to pattern recognition and visual analytics.

David Taubman, Sydney, Australia: for contributions to image and video communications.

James Truchard, Austin, Texas: for leadership in instrumentation and computing for signal processing.

Vesa Valimaki, Espoo, Finland: for contributions to synthesis and processing of audio signals.

An-Yeu (Andy) Wu, Taipei, Taiwan: for contributions to DSP algorithms and VLSI designs for communication IC/SoC.

Hsiao-Chun Wu, Baton Rouge, Louisiana: for contributions to digital video broadcasting and wireless systems.

Isao Yamada, Tokyo, Japan: for contributions to inverse problems and learning in signal processing.

Liuqing Yang, Fort Collins, Colorado: for contributions to theory and practice of ultra-wideband communications.

Aylin Yener, University Park, Pennsylvania: for contributions to wireless communication theory and wireless information security.

Moti Yung, New York, New York: for contributions to cryptography.

Wei Zhang, Sydney, Australia: for contributions to cognitive radio communications.

Haitao Zheng, Santa Barbara, California: for contributions to dynamic spectrum access and cognitive radio networks.

SPS on Twitter

  • DEADLINE EXTENDED: The 2023 IEEE International Workshop on Machine Learning for Signal Processing is now accepting… https://t.co/NLH2u19a3y
  • ONE MONTH OUT! We are celebrating the inaugural SPS Day on 2 June, honoring the date the Society was established in… https://t.co/V6Z3wKGK1O
  • The new SPS Scholarship Program welcomes applications from students interested in pursuing signal processing educat… https://t.co/0aYPMDSWDj
  • CALL FOR PAPERS: The IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Signal Processing is now seeking submissions for a Special… https://t.co/NPCGrSjQbh
  • Test your knowledge of signal processing history with our April trivia! Our 75th anniversary celebration continues:… https://t.co/4xal7voFER

IEEE SPS Educational Resources

IEEE SPS Resource Center

IEEE SPS YouTube Channel