Activity Update from the SAM-TC

You are here

Inside Signal Processing Newsletter Home Page

Top Reasons to Join SPS Today!

1. IEEE Signal Processing Magazine
2. Signal Processing Digital Library*
3. Inside Signal Processing Newsletter
4. SPS Resource Center
5. Career advancement & recognition
6. Discounts on conferences and publications
7. Professional networking
8. Communities for students, young professionals, and women
9. Volunteer opportunities
10. Coming soon! PDH/CEU credits
Click here to learn more.

News and Resources for Members of the IEEE Signal Processing Society

Activity Update from the SAM-TC

Published in TC News on 1 February 2015

Contributed by Marius Pesavento and Christoph Mecklenbräuker

Several elections took place in the Sensor Array and Multichannel (SAM) technical committee (TC). We congratulate Peter Willett and Martin Haardt for their election and assignment as new SAM TC Chair and Vice-Chair, respectively. We especially thank our past SAM TC Chair Dominic K.C. Ho who was chairing the SAM TC in the past two years for his excellent leadership and dedication.

The SAM TC welcomes the new members: Jacob Benesty (INRS-EMT, Canada), Fulvio Gini (University of Pisa, Italy), Eduard Jorswieck (Dresden University of Technology, Germany), Frédéric Pascal (L2S, Centrale-Supélec, France), Brian Sadler (Army Research Laboratory Adelphi, USA), Ba-Ngu Vo (Curtin University, Australia
) and Yimin Zhang (Villanova University, USA). The members Volkan Cevher, Mounir Ghogho, Geert Leus, Marius Pesavento, and Athina Petropulu have been re-elected for their second term in the SAM TC. We would like to thank the former members Olivier Besson, Rick Blum, Anne Ferreol and Visa Koivunen who have retired from their SAM TC duties for their valuable contributions and their long lasting engagement.

The SAM Technical Committee is proud to be successful with 4  Award nominations in the IEEE Signal Processing Society.

  • Moeness G. Amin receives the 2014 IEEE Signal Processing Society (SPS) Technical Achievement Award “for fundamental contributions to signal processing algorithms for communications, satellite navigations, and radar imaging.”
  • V. John Mathews receives the 2014 IEEE SPS Meritorious Service Award “for exemplary service to and leadership in the Signal Processing Society.”
  • Göran Bergqvist and Erik G. Larsson receive the 2014 IEEE SPS Signal Processing Magazine Best Paper Award for their paper entitled “The Higher-Order Singular Value Decomposition: Theory and an Application”, IEEE Signal Processing Magazine, Volume: 27, No. 3, May 2010.
  • Meisam Razaviyayn receives the IEEE SPS Young Author Best Paper Award for the paper co-authored by Gennady Lyubeznik and Zhi-Quan Luo, entitled “On the Degrees of Freedom Achievable Through Interference Alignment in a MIMO Interference Channel”, IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing, Volume: 60, No. 2, February 2012.

In addition, the SAM member Ali H. Sayed receives the IEEE SPS Best Paper Award for the paper co-authored with Federico S. Cattivelli, entitled “Diffusion LMS Strategies for Distributed Estimation”, IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing, Volume: 58, No. 3, March 2010. We congratulate all SPS Awardees!

The 40th IEEE International Conference on Acoustics, Speech, and Signal Processing (ICASSP 2015) will be held during April 19-24, 2015 in Brisbane, Australia. ICASSP will feature plenary talks by Iain Johnstone, Pramod K. Varshney, Rob Evans, Richard Baraniuk and Neil Gordon as well as 17 high-quality tutorials on diverse and timely topics for the signal processing community. A total number of 206 original papers have been submitted to ICASSP that fall under the SAM category, out of which 114 papers were accepted. These papers together with 7 Signal Processing Letters presentations are comprised in 5 lecture and 8 poster sessions. We hope to meet you soon in Brisbane!

We would like to announce that following the success of previous CAMSAP workshops the biannual IEEE workshop on Computational Advances in Multi-Channel Sensor Array Processing (CAMSAP 2015) will be held in Cancun, Mexico from December 13-16, 2015. The General Co-Chairs Petar M. Djurić and Jean-Yves Tourneret as well as the Technical Program Co-Chairs Fulvio Gini and Cédric Richard are working hard to make the CAMSAP 2015 a memorable event.

Further information is available at:

We would like to point out that in this year unfortunately the GlobalSIP is organized at the same time as CAMSAP, which causes some undesirable overlap.

Finally we are happy to announce that the Ninth IEEE Sensor Array and Multichannel Signal Processing Workshop (IEEE SAM 2016) will be held from 10th-13th of July 2016 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (shortly before the Summer Olympics). The General Chairs are Rodrigo C. de Lamare and Martin Haardt. Aleksandar Dogandzic and Vítor Nascimento serve as Technical Chairs. The technical program includes plenary talks by Stephen P. Boyd, Arye Nehorai, Robert Calderbank and A. Lee Swindlehurst.

Further information is available at:

Table of Contents:

Research Opportunities


IEEE SPS Educational Resources

IEEE SPS Resource Center

IEEE SPS YouTube Channel