52 SPS Members Elevated to Fellow

You are here

Inside Signal Processing Newsletter Home Page

Top Reasons to Join SPS Today!

1. IEEE Signal Processing Magazine
2. Signal Processing Digital Library*
3. Inside Signal Processing Newsletter
4. SPS Resource Center
5. Career advancement & recognition
6. Discounts on conferences and publications
7. Professional networking
8. Communities for students, young professionals, and women
9. Volunteer opportunities
10. Coming soon! PDH/CEU credits
Click here to learn more.

News and Resources for Members of the IEEE Signal Processing Society

52 SPS Members Elevated to Fellow

Each year, the IEEE Board of Directors confers the grade of Fellow on up to one-tenth of one percent of the members. To qualify for consideration, an individual must have been a Member, normally for five years or more, and a Senior Member at the time for nomination to Fellow. The grade of Fellow recognizes unusual distinction in IEEE’s designated fields.

The Signal Processing Society congratulates the following SPS members who were recognized with the grade of Fellow as of 1 January 2016:

Kiyoharu Aizawa, Tokyo, Japan, for contributions to model-based coding and multimedia lifelogging.

Ozgur Akan, Istanbul, Turkey, for contributions to wireless sensor networks.

Edward Baranoski, McLean, Virginia, for leadership in knowledge-aided radar systems for indoor environments.

Kenneth Barner, Newark, Delaware, for contributions in nonlinear signal processing.

Shannon Blunt, Washington, DC, for contributions to radar waveform diversity and design.

Tony Chan, Kowloon, Hong Kong, for contributions to computational models and algorithms for image processing.

Xilin Chen, Beijing, China, for contributions to machine vision for facial image analysis and sign language recognition.

Maria-Gabriella Di Benedetto, Rome, Italy, for contributions to impulse-radio ultra wideband and cognitive networks for wireless communications.

Frederic Dufaux, Paris, France, for contributions to visual information processing and coding.

Faramarz Fekri, Atlanta, Georgia, for contributions to coding theory and its applications.

Dinei Florencio, Redmond, Washington, for contributions to statistical and signal processing approaches to adversarial and security problems.

Jessica Fridrich, Binghamton, New York, for contributions to digital media forensics, steganography, and steganalysis.

Alan Hanjalic, Delft, Netherlands, for contributions to multimedia information retrieval.

Dimitrios Hatzinakos, Toronto, Canada, for contributions to signal processing techniques for communications, multimedia and biometrics.

Larry Heck, Mountain View, California, for leadership in application of machine learning to spoken and text language processing.

Wendi Rabiner Heinzelman, Rochester, New York, for contributions to algorithms, protocols, and architectures for wireless sensor and mobile networks.

Jiwu Huang, Shenzhen, China, for contributions to multimedia data hiding and forensics.

Lance Kaplan, Adelphi, Maryland, for contributions to signal processing and information fusion for situational awareness.

Hitoshi Kiya, Tokyo, Japan, for contributions to filter structure, data hiding, and multimedia security.

Erik Larsson, Linkoping, Sweden, for contributions to the technology of multi-antenna wireless communications.

Ta Sung Lee, Hsinchu, Taiwan, for leadership and contributions in communication systems and signal processing.

Weisi Lin, Singapore, Singapore, for contributions to perceptual modeling and processing of visual signals.

Fa-Long Luo, San Jose, California, for contributions to adaptive signal processing for hearing and multimedia applications.

Xiaoli Ma, Atlanta, Georgia, for contributions to block transmissions over wireless fading channels.

Dimitris Manolakis, Lexington, Massachusetts, for contributions to signal processing education, algorithms for adaptive filtering, and hyperspectral imaging.

Jonathan Manton, Parkville,Victoria, Australia, for contributions to geometric methods in signal processing and wireless communications.

Farid Melgani, Trento, Italy, for contributions to image analysis in remote sensing.

Lamine Mili, Falls Church, Virginia, for contributions to robust state estimation for power systems.

Hlaing Minn, Richardson, Texas, for contributions to synchronization and channel estimation in communication systems.

Satoshi Nakamura, Ikoma, Nara, Japan, for contributions to speech recognition and speech-to-speech translation.

Antonio Napolitano, Napoli, Italy, for contributions to the statistical theory of nonstationary signal processing.

Fernando Perez-Gonzalez, Vigo, Galicia, Spain, for contributions to multimedia security.

Petar Popovski, Aalborg, Denmark, for contributions to network coding and multiple access methods in wireless communications.

Alexandros Potamianos, Zografou, Attiki, Greece, for contributions to human-centered speech and multimodal signal analysis.

Sundeep Rangan, Brooklyn, New York, for contributions to orthogonal frequency division multiple access cellular communication systems.

Kui Ren, Buffalo, New York, for contributions to security and privacy in cloud computing and wireless networks.

Ivan Selesnick, Brooklyn, New York, for contributions to wavelet and sparsity based signal processing.

Osvaldo Simeone, Newark, New Jersey, for contributions to cooperative cellular systems and cognitive radio networks.

Sun Sumei, Singapore, Singapore, for leadership in design and standardization of wireless communication systems.

John Thompson, Edinburgh, United Kingdom, for contributions to multiple antenna and multi-hop wireless communications.

Qi Tian, San Antonio, Texas, for contributions to multimedia information retrieval.

Sennur Ulukus, College Park, Maryland, for contributions to characterizing performance limits of wireless networks.

Yue Wang, Arlington, Virginia, for contributions to genomic signal analytics and image-based tissue characterization.

Zhengdao Wang, Ames, Iowa, for contributions to multicarrier communications and performance analysis of wireless systems.

Zhong Feng Wang, Irvine, California, for contributions to VLSI design and implementation of forward error correction coding.

Kaikit Wong, London, United Kingdom, for contributions to multiuser communication systems.

Chenyang Xu, Berkeley, California, for contributions to medical imaging and image-guided interventions.

Lie Liang Yang, Southampton, United Kingdom, for contributions to multicarrier communications and wireless transceivers.

Mark Yeary, Norman, Oklahoma, for contributions to radar systems for meteorology.

Jinhong Yuan, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia, for contributions to multi-antenna wireless communication technologies.

Bing Zeng, Chengdu, China, for contributions to image and video coding.

Jianzhong Zhang, Mountain View, California, for leadership in standardization of cellular systems.

The following individual was evaluated by the SPS, but is not an SPS member:

Yiu Chan, Kingston, Canada, for development of efficient localization and tracking algorithms.

Table of Contents:

SPS on Twitter

  • DEADLINE EXTENDED: The 2023 IEEE International Workshop on Machine Learning for Signal Processing is now accepting… https://t.co/NLH2u19a3y
  • ONE MONTH OUT! We are celebrating the inaugural SPS Day on 2 June, honoring the date the Society was established in… https://t.co/V6Z3wKGK1O
  • The new SPS Scholarship Program welcomes applications from students interested in pursuing signal processing educat… https://t.co/0aYPMDSWDj
  • CALL FOR PAPERS: The IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Signal Processing is now seeking submissions for a Special… https://t.co/NPCGrSjQbh
  • Test your knowledge of signal processing history with our April trivia! Our 75th anniversary celebration continues:… https://t.co/4xal7voFER

IEEE SPS Educational Resources

IEEE SPS Resource Center

IEEE SPS YouTube Channel