Editorial Board

Top Reasons to Join SPS Today!

1. IEEE Signal Processing Magazine
2. Signal Processing Digital Library*
3. Inside Signal Processing Newsletter
4. SPS Resource Center
5. Career advancement & recognition
6. Discounts on conferences and publications
7. Professional networking
8. Communities for students, young professionals, and women
9. Volunteer opportunities
10. Coming soon! PDH/CEU credits
Click here to learn more.

Editorial Board

Christian Jutten Editor-in-Chief:
Christian Jutten
University Grenoble-Alpes
Saint-Martin-d'Hères, France
Email EiC
Email SPS Publications Office
Term Ends: 31 December 2023




A Message from the Editor-in-Chief:

Welcome to the website of IEEE Signal Processing Magazine (SPM)!

SPM is received bimonthly by all members of the IEEE Signal Processing Society. It publishes tutorial-style articles with comprehensive surveys of important theories, algorithms, tools, and applications related to signal processing and related areas. Each issue includes articles from three main categories -- special issue articles, feature articles, and columns/forums articles. The recently introduced "Inside Signal Processing E-Newsletter" is a monthly electronic publication of SPM serving all members in the Society. Thanks to the contributions made by all of the society members and volunteers, SPM continues to receive distinguished recognition, ranked consistently among the top journals with the highest citation impact. According to the Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Report released June 2010 and 2011, the SPM ranks first in both years among all IEEE publications (127 in total) and all publications within the Electrical and Electronics Engineering Category worldwide (247 in total) in terms of its impact factor: 5.86 and 4.066.

SPM is charged with the roles of educating our readers in new trends of signal processing and of broad community services. We set the highest standards for the published works with swift timeliness in the review and publication process. Our editorial team consists of world-class researchers and educators with expertise spanning over all areas of signal processing and related disciplines.

We seek your active involvement and participation in shaping SPM to one reflecting our whole community's interests, both long term and short term. Contact me for any idea you may have for improving any section in SPM. I welcome you to be an SPM author, columnist, guest editor, and/or a reviewer.

Note: Hover the mouse over name to view additional information.

Area Editors

Name Affiliation Area of Focus
Emil Björnson KTH Royal Institute of Technology, School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Sweden Area Editor - Social Media and Outreach
Laure Blanc-Féraud Centre national de la recherche scientifique, France Area Editor - Feature Articles
Rodrigo Capobianco Guido São Paulo State University, Brazil Area Editor - Columns and Forums
Andres Kwasinski Rochester Institute of Technology, USA Area Editor - Special Initiatives
Hamid Palangi Microsoft Research, USA Area Editor - eNewsletter
H. Vicky Zhao Tsinghua University, China Area Editor - Columns and Forums
Xiaoxiang Zhu German Aerospace Center, Germany Area Editor - Special Issues

Senior Editorial Board

Name Affiliation
Massoud Babaie-Zadeh Sharif University of Technology, Iran
Waheed U. Bajwa Rutgers University, USA
Danijela Cabric UCLA, USA
Volkan Cevher EPFL, Switzerland
Mrityunjoy Chakraborty Indian Institute of Technology-Kharagpur, India
Caroline Chaux Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS), France
George Chrisikos Qualcomm Inc., USA
Mark Coates Friedrich-Alexander-Universitat Erlangen-Nurnberg Technische Fakultat, Germany
Laura Cottatellucci McGill University, Canada
Davide Dardari University of Bologna, Italy
Alfonso Farina Leonardo S.P.A., Italy
Mario Figueiredo Instituto Superior Técnico, University of Lisbon, Portugal
Sharon Gannot Bar-Ilan University, Israel
Yifan Gong Microsoft Corp., USA
B. Vikrham Gowreesunker Apple, USA
Remi Gribonval Inria Centre de Recherche Grenoble Rhone-Alpes, France
Joseph Guerci Information Systems Laboratories, Inc., USA
Christine Guillemot French Institute for Research in Computer Science and Automation (INRIA), France
Nageen Himayat Intel, USA
Ian Jermyn Durham University, UK
Ulugbek S. Kamilov Washington University in Saint Louis, USA
Patrick Le Callet Université de Nantes, France
Sanghoon Lee Yonsei University, Korea
Danilo Mandic Imperial College London, UK
Michalis Matthaiou Queen's University Belfast, United Kingdom
Gaël Richard Télécom Paris, Institut Polytechnique de Paris, France
Reza Sameni Emory University, USA
Ervin Sejdic University of Pittsburgh, USA
Milica Stojanovic Northeastern University, USA
Dimitri Van De Ville Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland
Henk Wymeersch Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
Qing Zhao Cornell University, USA

Associate Editors for Columns and Forum

Name Affiliation
Ulisses Braga-Neto Texas A&M University, USA
Cagatay Candan Middle East Technical University, Turkey
Hana Godrich Rutgers University, USA
Wei Hu Peking University, China
Euee Seon Jang Hanyang University, Republic of Korea
Xingyu Li University of Alberta, Canada
Xin Liao Hunan University, China
Piya Pal University of California San Diego, USA
Hemant A. Patil Dhirubhai Ambani Institute of Information and Communication Technology (DA-IICT), India
Christian Ritz University of Wollongong, Australia
H. Vicky Zhao Tsinghua University, China

Associate Editors for eNewsletter

Name Affiliation
Abhishek Appaji B.M.S. College of Engineering-Bengaluru, India
Subhro Das IBM Research, USA
Behnaz Ghoraani Florida Atlantic University, USA
Panagiotis Markopoulos University of Texas at San Antonio, USA

SPS on Twitter

  • The SPS Webinar Series continues of 29 March when Dr. Mauricio Delbracio presents "A Walk Through Image Deblurring:… https://t.co/H1dNvuFgRv
  • COMING SOON: Join us on 9 March when Mr. Sayantan Dutta presents "Novel Prospects of Image Restoration Inspired by… https://t.co/LVYqeWEmLg
  • Happy from SPS! Thank you for doing your part towards furnishing a fairer, more equitable world for your c… https://t.co/63tIxNQQaR
  • There's still time to register your team for the 2023 IEEE Signal Processing Cup! Visit our website and register no… https://t.co/lgOQUjNPbe
  • There is still time to join the 5-Minute Video Clip Contest! Visit our website to learn more and submit your videos… https://t.co/aVUNYfTEF2

SPS Videos

Signal Processing in Home Assistants


Multimedia Forensics

Careers in Signal Processing             


Under the Radar