Activity Update from the DISPS TC

You are here

Inside Signal Processing Newsletter Home Page

Top Reasons to Join SPS Today!

1. IEEE Signal Processing Magazine
2. Signal Processing Digital Library*
3. Inside Signal Processing Newsletter
4. SPS Resource Center
5. Career advancement & recognition
6. Discounts on conferences and publications
7. Professional networking
8. Communities for students, young professionals, and women
9. Volunteer opportunities
10. Coming soon! PDH/CEU credits
Click here to learn more.

News and Resources for Members of the IEEE Signal Processing Society

Activity Update from the DISPS TC

Published in TC News on  Dec. 2016

Jarmo Takala

by Ching Te Chiu and Zhiyuan Yan (Vice-Chair and Chair of the DISPS TC)

The Design and Implementation of Signal Processing Systems Technical Committee (DISPS TC) has the mission to promote and support activities of the IEEE Signal Processing Society in the areas of: i) design, development and implementation of signal processing systems; ii) design of algorithms with implementation in mind and iii) design of software tools and methodologies to support the design of signal processing systems.

The TC holds biannual meetings. The spring meeting is held at the IEEE International Conference on Acoustics, Speech, and Signal Processing (ICASSP), which is the flagship conference of the Signal Processing Society. The fall meeting is held at the TC’s annual IEEE Workshop on Signal Processing Systems (SiPS). The TC is responsible for organizing the SiPS workshop as well as reviews of papers for both SiPS and the Design and Implementation of Signal Processing Systems (DISPS) track of ICASSP. In addition to the biannual meetings, the DISPS TC members are active in participating IEEE Conference on Signal and Information Processing (GlobalSIP).

The technical committee currently has 32 Members, an Advisory Board, and Affiliate Members. New members for the TC will be selected in the Fall for the next 3-year term starting in January 2017. There will be several positions to be filled. The call for nominations is announced in September 2016 on the DISPS web page. More information about the requirements for membership and the procedures for nomination are available on


The TC is represented at the DISPS track of  ICASSP 2016 in Shanghai, China. This year the DISPS track had a total of  25 accepted papers, organized in one lecture session and two poster sessions.

The DISPS TC’s flagship event for this year, the 2016 IEEE Workshop on Signal Processing Systems (SiPS 2016) was held in Dallas, Texas USA from Oct. 26-28, 2016. The submission deadline was May 2, 2016. The General Chair is Marilyn Wolf (Georgia Tech, US) and Manish Goel (Samsung Mobile Processor Innovation Lab, US) and the Program Chairs Joe Cavallaro (Rice University, US) and Zhongfeng Wang (Nanjing University, US). All four are past or current TC members. There are 57 accepted papers in SiPS 2016. As part of the workshop, the IEEE SiPS attendees toured the new cutting-edge Texas Instruments Richardson VLSI Fab facility.

The 2016 SiPS workshop is the thirtieth in this series. The keynote speakers included: Alan C. Bovik of the University of Texas at Austin, Alan Gatherer of Huawei Technologies, and Wonyong Sung of Seoul National University.  Wanda Gass of Design Connect Create gave an inspiring banquet keynote on "Solving the Equation for Women’s Success in Engineering."  In addition to Texas Instruments, the conference sponsors included Samsung and Huawei.  The Springer Journal of Signal Processing Systems sponsored the Bob Owens Best Student Paper Awards where First Place was awarded to Jiang Xiang, Ziyun Li, Hun Seok Kim, and Chaitali Chakrabarti of Arizona State University and the University of Michigan; Second Place to Yingyan Lin, Sai Zhang, and Naresh R. Shanbhag of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; and Third Place to Anshuman Ganguly, Chandan Reddy, Yiya Hao, and Issa Panahi of the University of Texas at Dallas.

The 2017 SiPS will be held in Lorient, France, and the General Chairs will be Philippe Coussy (Université de Bretagne Sud, France) and Warren Gross (McGill University, Canada) and the Program Chairs Jarmo Takala (Tampere University of Technology, Finland) and Andreas Burg (EPFL, Switzerland). All of them are past or current TC members.

The DISPS TC is organizing a Symposium on Transceivers and Signal Processing for 5G Wireless and mm-Wave Systems in the 2016 IEEE Global Conference on Signal and Information Processing (GlobalSIP 2016). This year’s GlobalSIP will be held in Greater Washington, D.C., Dec. 7-9, 2016. The General Chairs of the symposium are Mikko Valkama (Tampere University of Technology, Finland) and Yuan-Hao Huang (National Tsing Hua University, Ta University of Oulu, Finland)iwan). The Technical Program Chairs are Markku Juntti (University of Oulu, Finland) and Jani Boutellier (University of Oulu, Finland). Yuan-Hao Huang and  Jani Boutellier are current or past TC members. The deadline for submissions is Feb. 6, 2016. Warren Gross will be General Co-Chair of GlobalSIP 2017 in Montreal.


Warren Gross serves as the Senior Area Editor, after Zhiyuan Yan, responsible for the DIS EDICS in IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing, and Joseph Cavallaro as Associate Editors. Philippe Coussy, Lei Wang, Tokunbo Ogunfunmi, and Mohammad Mansour continue as Associate Editors for IEEE Signal Processing Letters. Chin Te Chiu is the Associate Editors for IEEE Signal Processing Magazine. Advisory board member Xinmiao Zhang recently completed a book: X. Zhang, "VLSI Architectures for Modern Error-Correcting Codes," CRC, July 2015.


SiPS 2016 (l) Banquet Speaker Wanda Gass, (r) First Place Paper Contest Award.


IEEE SPS Educational Resources

IEEE SPS Resource Center

IEEE SPS YouTube Channel