2021 IEEE Technical Field Award Recipients Announced

You are here

Inside Signal Processing Newsletter Home Page

Top Reasons to Join SPS Today!

1. IEEE Signal Processing Magazine
2. Signal Processing Digital Library*
3. Inside Signal Processing Newsletter
4. SPS Resource Center
5. Career advancement & recognition
6. Discounts on conferences and publications
7. Professional networking
8. Communities for students, young professionals, and women
9. Volunteer opportunities
10. Coming soon! PDH/CEU credits
Click here to learn more.

News and Resources for Members of the IEEE Signal Processing Society

2021 IEEE Technical Field Award Recipients Announced

The IEEE Board of Directors has approved the 2021 IEEE Technical Field Awards. The complete list of recipients and their citations is online at www.ieee.org/awards. Please feel free to send your notes of congratulations and to publicize the recipients within your IEEE and professional affiliations.

The following list reflects signal processing related and/or SPS Member award recipients:

The IEEE James L. Flanagan Speech and Audio Processing Award, recognizing outstanding contribution to the advancement of speech and/or audio signal processing, was awarded to David Nahamoo "for contributions to and leadership in research and deployment of spoken-language technologies."

The IEEE Fourier Award for Signal Processing, recognizing an outstanding contribution to the advancement of signal processing, other than in the areas of speech and audio processing, was awarded to K.J. Ray Liu "for outstanding leadership in and pioneering contributions to signal processing for wireless sensing and communications.”

The IEEE Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award, recognizing outstanding contributions to the field of nuclear and plasma sciences and engineering, was awarded to Michel Defrise "for key developments in image reconstruction for positron emission tomography and x-ray computed tomography."

The IEEE Innovation in Societal Infrastructure Award, recognizing significant technological achievements and contributions to the establishment, development, and proliferation of innovative societal infrastructure systems through the application of information technology with an emphasis on distributed computing systems, was awarded to Elisa Bertino "for advancing the security and privacy of new-generation cellular networks."

The IEEE Eric E. Sumner Award, recognizing outstanding contributions to communications technology, was awarded to En-Hui Yang “for contributions to the theory and practice of source coding."

The IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award, recognizing outstanding early to mid-career contributions to technologies holding the promise of innovative applications, was awarded to Zhu Han "for contributions to game theory and distributed management of autonomous communication networks.”

SPS on Twitter

  • Our 75th anniversary celebration continues -- March trivia is now live! Take the trivia before 6 April for the chan… https://t.co/5ajuy7OZkP
  • The Brain Space Initiative Talk Series continues on Friday, 31 March when Dr. Dean Salisbury presents "From searchi… https://t.co/jvnsJ6jX7K
  • On 26 April, join Dr. Preeti Kumari, Dr. Nitin Jonathan Myers, and Dr. Robert W. Heath Jr. for a new SPS Webinar, "… https://t.co/x5Mm6Djvmz
  • We have several 75th anniversary activities in store for - join SPS leaders in conversation about the p… https://t.co/nsPV0a5RW5
  • Join us on 7 April 2023 when Dr. Chao Zuo presents "Lens-Free On-Chip Digital Holographic Microscopy: Resolution An… https://t.co/Bklm6qy6zp

SPS Videos

Signal Processing in Home Assistants


Multimedia Forensics

Careers in Signal Processing             


Under the Radar