SPS Members Receive 2022 IEEE Awards

You are here

Inside Signal Processing Newsletter Home Page

Top Reasons to Join SPS Today!

1. IEEE Signal Processing Magazine
2. Signal Processing Digital Library*
3. Inside Signal Processing Newsletter
4. SPS Resource Center
5. Career advancement & recognition
6. Discounts on conferences and publications
7. Professional networking
8. Communities for students, young professionals, and women
9. Volunteer opportunities
10. Coming soon! PDH/CEU credits
Click here to learn more.

News and Resources for Members of the IEEE Signal Processing Society

SPS Members Receive 2022 IEEE Awards

IEEE has announced the 2022 IEEE Medal, Recogiition, and Technical Field Award recipients. IEEE medals are the highest honor of awards presented by IEEE and these awards will be presented at the 2022 IEEE Honors Ceremony. Nine IEEE Signal Processing Society members have been recognized with an IEEE award and are noted below. Please feel free to publicize the recipients and post your own notes of congratulations on the new Kudoboard on the Awards website.


The IEEE Edison Medal awarded for a career of meritorious achievement in electrical science, electrical engineering, or the electrical arts, will be presented to Alan C. Bovik, for pioneering high-impact scientific and engineering contributions leading to the perceptually optimized global streaming and sharing of visual media.

The IEEE Jack S. Kilby Signal Processing Medal awarded for outstanding achievements in signal processing, will be presented to David L. Donoho for groundbreaking contributions to sparse signal recovery and compressed sensing.

The IEEE/RSE James Clerk Maxwell Medal awarded for groundbreaking contributions that have had an exceptional impact on the development of electronics and electrical engineering, or related fields, will be presented to Ingo Wolff for the development of numerical electromagnetic field analysis techniques to design advanced mobile and satellite communication systems.

The IEEE Dennis J. Picard Medal for Radar Technologies and Applications awarded for outstanding accomplishments in advancing the fields of radar technologies and their applications, will be presented to Moeness G. Amin for contributions to radar signal processing across a wide range of applications including through-the-wall imaging and health monitoring.


The IEEE Richard M. Emberson Award awarded for distinguished service advancing the technical objectives of IEEE, will be presented to Frederick C. Mintzer​ for outstanding leadership of technical activities including the IEEE Collabratec and TAB technology-centric communities.


The IEEE James L. Flanagan Speech and Audio Processing Award awarded for an outstanding contribution to the advancement of speech and/or audio signal processing, will be presented to Herve Bourlard and Nelson Morgan for contributions to neural networks for statistical speech recognition.

The IEEE Fourier Award for Signal Processing​ awarded for an outstanding contribution to the advancement of signal processing, other than in the areas of speech and audio processing, will be presented to Ali H. Sayed for contributions to the theory and practice of adaptive signal processing.

The IEEE Koji Kobayashi Computers and Communications Award awarded for outstanding contributions to the integration of computers and communications, will be presented to Muriel Medard for contributions to the theory and practice of network coding, optical networks, and wireless communication.

The IEEE Eric E. Sumner Award​ awarded for outstanding contributions to communications technology, will be presented to Lajos Hanzo for seminal contributions to adaptive wireless communications.


IEEE SPS Educational Resources

IEEE SPS Resource Center

IEEE SPS YouTube Channel