Activity Update from the BISP Technical Committee

You are here

Inside Signal Processing Newsletter Home Page

Top Reasons to Join SPS Today!

1. IEEE Signal Processing Magazine
2. Signal Processing Digital Library*
3. Inside Signal Processing Newsletter
4. SPS Resource Center
5. Career advancement & recognition
6. Discounts on conferences and publications
7. Professional networking
8. Communities for students, young professionals, and women
9. Volunteer opportunities
10. Coming soon! PDH/CEU credits
Click here to learn more.

News and Resources for Members of the IEEE Signal Processing Society

Activity Update from the BISP Technical Committee

Christopher Wyattby Christopher Wyatt (BISP Liaison to E-Newsletter)

The BioImaging and Signal Processing Technical Committee (BISP TC) of the IEEE Signal Processing Society (IEEE-SPS) promotes activities within the broad technical areas of biomedical and biological signal and image processing. Specific fields of interest include (but are not limited to): molecular and medical imaging, microscopy, signal processing in computational biology and biological networks, signal processing of physiological signals, and bioinformatics.

The BISP TC asks you to mark your calendars for the 37th International Conference on Acoustics, Speech, and Signal Processing (ICASSP), to be held in Kyoto, Japan on on March 25 - 30, 2012. ICASSP is the largest technical conference focused on signal processing and its applications, including those in biomedicine.

The BISP TC is cosponsoring (with the IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society) the annual International Symposium on Biomedical Imaging (ISBI). The next ISBI (2012) meeting, the 10th anniversary since the first edition, will be held in Barcelona, Spain on 2-5 May 2012 and will continue the tradition of fostering cross-fertilization among different imaging communities and contributing to an integrative approach to biomedical imaging across all scales of observation.

The BISP TC recently conducted its annual elections. A total of 7 new or returning members were elected: Ge Yang, Charles Kervrann, Tolga Tasdizen, Paul Yushkevich, Bahram Parvin, Rebecca Willett, and Peng Qiu. There were five new associate members elected: Xavier Descombes, César Caballero Gaudes, Nasir Rajpoot, Jonas Richiardi, and Patrick Clarysse.


IEEE SPS Educational Resources

IEEE SPS Resource Center

IEEE SPS YouTube Channel