SPS Members Receive 2012 IEEE Awards

You are here

Inside Signal Processing Newsletter Home Page

Top Reasons to Join SPS Today!

1. IEEE Signal Processing Magazine
2. Signal Processing Digital Library*
3. Inside Signal Processing Newsletter
4. SPS Resource Center
5. Career advancement & recognition
6. Discounts on conferences and publications
7. Professional networking
8. Communities for students, young professionals, and women
9. Volunteer opportunities
10. Coming soon! PDH/CEU credits
Click here to learn more.

News and Resources for Members of the IEEE Signal Processing Society

SPS Members Receive 2012 IEEE Awards

The following SPS members will receive 2012 IEEE awards.

Clifford Carter has been selected as the IEEE Jack S. Kilby Signal Processing Medal recipient “for contributions to the fundamentals of coherence and time-delay estimation and to underwater acoustics signal processing.”
The IEEE James L. Flanagan Speech and Audio Processing Technical Field Award will be presented to James Baker (Carnegie Mellon University) and Janet Baker (Saras Institute) “for fundamental contributions to the theory and practice of automatic speech recognition.”


The 2012 IEEE Masasu Ibuka Consumer Electronics Award will be presented to Gisle Bjontegaard (Tandberg Telecom), Gary Sullivan (Microsoft Corporation), and Thomas Wiegand (Berlin University of Technology) “for leadership and technical contributions to the development of the globally deployed video coding standard H.264/MPEG4-AVC.”
The IEEE Joseph F. Keithley Award in Instrumentation and Measurement recognizes outstanding contributions in electrical measurements. The 2012 recipient is Rik Pintelon (Vrijo Universiteit Brussel) “for the development of innovative system identification methods for measurement applications.”

The 2012 IEEE Judith A. Resnik Award will be presented to Pramod Kumar Varshney (Syracuse University) “for contributions to and leadership in the theory and practice of multisensor data fusion for aerospace and bioengineering applications.”
The IEEE Leon K. Kirchmayer Graduate Teaching Award recognizes inspirational teaching of graduate students in the IEEE fields of interest. The 2012 recipient is Anthony G. Constantinides (Imperial College) “for educating, inspiring and mentoring generations of graduate students in digital signal processing and communications
throughout the world.”

Table of Contents:


IEEE SPS Educational Resources

IEEE SPS Resource Center

IEEE SPS YouTube Channel