Activity Update from the DISPS TC

You are here

Inside Signal Processing Newsletter Home Page

Top Reasons to Join SPS Today!

1. IEEE Signal Processing Magazine
2. Signal Processing Digital Library*
3. Inside Signal Processing Newsletter
4. SPS Resource Center
5. Career advancement & recognition
6. Discounts on conferences and publications
7. Professional networking
8. Communities for students, young professionals, and women
9. Volunteer opportunities
10. Coming soon! PDH/CEU credits
Click here to learn more.

10 years of news and resources for members of the IEEE Signal Processing Society

Activity Update from the DISPS TC

Jarmo TakalaWarren J. Grossby Warren J. Gross and Jarmo Takala
(Vice-Chair and Chair of the DISPS TC)

The Design and Implementation of Signal Processing Systems Technical Committee (DISPS TC) has the mission to promote and support activities of the IEEE Signal Processing Society in the areas of: i) Design, development and implementation of signal processing systems; ii) Design of algorithms with implementation in mind and iii) the Design of software tools and methodologies to support the design of signal processing systems.

The TC holds biannual meetings. The spring meeting is held at the International Conference on Acoustics, Speech, and Signal Processing (IEEE ICASSP), which is the flagship conference of the Signal Processing Society. The fall meeting is held at the TC's annual Workshop on Signal Processing Systems (IEEE SiPS). The TC is responsible for organizing the SiPS workshop as well as reviews of papers for both SiPS and the Design and Implementation of Signal Processing Systems (DISPS) track of ICASSP.

The technical committee currently has 35 Members, an Advisory Board, and Affiliate Members. New members for the TC will be selected in the Fall for the next 3-year term starting in January 2014. There will be 14 positions to be filled. The call for nominations will be announced in September 2013 on the DISPS web page. More information about the requirements for membership and the procedures for nomination are available on the TC’s membership webpage.


The TC is represented at the DISPS track of ICASSP 2013 in Vancouver, Canada. This year the DISPS track received a good number of submissions (99) and a total of 53 accepted papers were organized in two lecture sessions and three poster sessions. The DISPS ICASSP submissions have followed an increasing trend since 2007.

The DISPS TC’s flagship event, the IEEE Workshop on Signal Processing Systems (IEEE SiPS 2013) is returning to Taiwan after 14 years. SiPS’2013 will be held in Taipei, Taiwan from Oct. 16-18, 2013. The Honorary Chair of SiPS’2013 is Liang-Gee Chen (National Applied Research Laboratories, TW), the General Chairs are An-Yeu (Andy) Wu (National Taiwan University, TW) and Naresh Shanbhag (Univ. Illinois Urbana-Champaign, US) and the Program Chairs are Ching-Te Chiu (National Tsing Hua University, TW) and Vassilis Paliouras (Univ. Patras, GR). All of them are current or past DISPS members. The 2014 SiPS Workshop will be held in Belfast, UK Oct. 20-23 2014 and the General Chair will be John McCanny and Program Chairs Maire O’Neill and John McAllister, all from Queen’s University Belfast.

The DISPS TC is involved in organizing a symposium on Software Defined and Cognitive Radios in the new SPS flagship event, the IEEE Global Conference on Signal and Information Processing (GlobalSIP). The first GlobalSIP will be held in Austin, TX, Dec. 3-5 2013. More information about the Symposium on Software Defined and Cognitive Radios can be found on the symposium webpage. The deadline for submissions is June 1, 2013.


In 2013, past DISPS member Ingrid Verbauwhede, Univ. Leuven, BE was elevated to IEEE Fellow for her contributions to design of secure integrated circuits and systems.

DISPS member Warren Gross has recently been nominated as Associate Editor to IEEE Transaction on Signal Processing. Zhiyuan Yan continues as the Area Editor responsible for HDW EDICS and John McAllister as AE. Philippe Coussy has been appointed as an Associate Editor of IEEE Signal Processing Letters. The other DISPS related AEs are Lei Wang, Tokunbo Ogunfunmi, Mohammad Mansour, and Xiaokang Yang.


Shuvra Bhattacharyya (TC Advisory Board member), Ed Deprettere (TC advisory Board member), Rainer Leupers, and Jarmo Takala (TC member) have been working on the 2nd edition of the book “Handbook of Signal Processing Systems” and many TC members have contributed chapters to this book. The 1st edition of the handbook has been published by Springer; the 2nd edition will contain 42 chapters divided in three parts: I Applications, II Architectures, and III Design Methods and Tools. The foreword is provided by S. Y. Kung (TC Advisory Board member).

A Special Issue of the Journal of Signal Processing Systems on Design and Implementation of Signal Processing Systems was published in March 2013. The issue features ten papers on Advances in DSP System Design. Guest editors of the issue were TC members Jarmo Takala, Warren Gross, and Wonyong Sung.

SPS on Twitter

  • SPS WEBINAR: Join us on Tuesday, 2 August for a new SPS Webinar, when Dr. Yue Li presents "Learning a Convolutional…
  • Registration for ICIP 2021 is now open! This hybrid event will take place 19-22 September, with the in-person compo…
  • The Brain Space Initiative Talk Series continues on Friday, 30 July when Dr. Ioulia Kovelman presents "The Bilingua…
  • There’s still time to register your team to win the US$5,000 grand prize in the 5-Minute Video Clip Contest, “Autom…
  • Join the SPS Vizag Bay, Long Island, and Finland Chapters for the Seasonal School on Signal Processing and Communic…

SPS Videos

Signal Processing in Home Assistants


Multimedia Forensics

Careers in Signal Processing             


Under the Radar