47 SPS Members Elevated to Fellow

You are here

Inside Signal Processing Newsletter Home Page

Top Reasons to Join SPS Today!

1. IEEE Signal Processing Magazine
2. Signal Processing Digital Library*
3. Inside Signal Processing Newsletter
4. SPS Resource Center
5. Career advancement & recognition
6. Discounts on conferences and publications
7. Professional networking
8. Communities for students, young professionals, and women
9. Volunteer opportunities
10. Coming soon! PDH/CEU credits
Click here to learn more.

News and Resources for Members of the IEEE Signal Processing Society

47 SPS Members Elevated to Fellow

Each year, the IEEE Board of Directors confers the grade of Fellow on up to one-tenth of one percent of the members. To qualify for consideration, an individual must have been a Member, normally for five years or more, and a Senior Member at the time for nomination to Fellow. The grade of Fellow recognizes unusual distinction in IEEE’s designated fields.

The Signal Processing Society congratulates the following SPS members who were recognized with the grade of Fellow as of 1 January 2017:

Raviraj Adve, Toronto, Canada, for development of signal processing techniques for airborne radar.

Sos Agaian, San Antonio, Texas, for contributions to biologically-inspired visual data processing systems.

Richard Buehrer, Blacksburg, Virginia, for contributions to wideband signal processing in communications and geolocation.

Lap-pui Chau, Singapore, Singapore, for contributions to fast computation algorithms for visual signal processing.

Douglas Cochran, Tempe, Arizona, for contributions to multi-channel coherence in radar, sonar, and spectrum sensing.

Huaiyu Dai, Raleigh, North Carolina, for contributions to MIMO communications and wireless security.

Ricardo De Queiroz, Brasilia, Brazil, for contributions to image and video signal enhancement and compression.

Jose Dias, Lisboa, Portugal, for contributions to imaging inverse problems in remote sensing.

Pier Luigi Dragotti, London, United Kingdom, for contributions to sparse signal representation and sampling theory.

Pablo Estevez, Santiago, Chile, for contributions to feature selection and visualization of large data sets.

James Fowler, Mississippi State, Mississippi, for contributions to lossy source coding and dimensionality reduction of multidimensional data.

Michael Gastpar, Lanne, Switzerland, for contributions to network information theory.

Uwe Hanebeck, Waldbronn, Germany, for contributions to nonlinear estimation and control.

Julia Hirschberg, New York, New York, for contributions to text-to-speech synthesis and spoken language understanding.

Yo-Sung Ho, Gwangju, Korea, for contribution to video coding and 3D image processing.

Tatsuya Kawahara, Kyoto, Japan, for contributions to speech recognition and understanding.

Takao Kobayashi, Yokohama, Japan, for contributions to expressive speech synthesis based on a statistical parametric approach.

Witold Krzymien, Edmonton, Canada, for contributions to radio resource management for cellular systems and networks.

Li Li, Beijing, China, for contributions to intelligent transportation systems and vehicles.

Xin Li, Morgantown, West Virginia, for contributions to image coding, restoration, and interpolation.

Yuanqing Li, Guangzhou, China, for contributions to brain signal analysis and brain computer interfaces.

Qilian Liang, Arlington, Texas, for contributions to interval type-2 fuzzy logic systems.

Teng-joon Lim, Singapore, Singapore, for contributions to statistical signal processing in wireless communications.

Wing-kin Ma, Shatin, Hong Kong, for contributions to optimization in signal processing and communications.

Enrico Magli, Torino, Italy, for contributions to compression and communication of remotely sensed imagery.

Aleksandra Mojsilovic, Yorktown Heights, New York, for contributions to signal processing for image analysis, data mining, and business analytics.

Srikantan Nagarajan, San Francisco, California, for contributions to neural engineering and biomagnetic brain imaging.

Panos Nasiopoulos, Vancouver, Canada, for leadership in DVD authoring and digital multimedia technologies.

Brett Ninness, Newcastle, Australia, for contributions to computational methods in system identification.

Phillip Pace, San Juan Bautista, California, for leadership in radar signal processing, receiver design, and direction finding architectures.

Bhiksha Raj, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, for contributions to speech recognition.

Bhuvana Ramabhadran, Mount Kisco, New York, for contributions to speech recognition and language processing.

Gael Richard, Paris, France, for contributions to analysis, indexing and decomposition of audio and music signals.

Seb Savory, Ely, United Kingdom, for contributions to digital coherent transceivers for optical fiber communication.

Behzad Shahraray, Middletown, New Jersey, for leadership in content-based processing and retrieval of multimedia information.

Steven Smith, Lexington, Massachusetts, for contributions to statistical signal processing and applications to radar and sonar.

Leif Sornmo, Lund, Sweden, for contributions to biomedical signal processing in cardiac applications.

Yannis Stylianou, Cambridge, United Kingdom, for contributions to speech analysis and communication.

Guaning Su, Singapore, Singapore, for leadership in defense technology and management of educational institutions.

Sabine Susstrunk, Lanne, Switzerland, for contributions to computational imaging, color image processing, and color computer vision.

Nuno Vasconcelos, La Jolla, California, for contributions to computer vision, image processing, and multimedia.

Xianbin Wang, London, Canada, for contributions to OFDM systems and distributed transmission technologies.

Zhen Wang, Vancouver, Canada, for contributions to statistical signal processing for multimedia security and brain data analytics.

Ying Wu, Evanston, Illinois, for contributions to motion analysis and pattern discovery in computer vision.

Shuicheng Yan, Singapore, Singapore, for contributions to subspace learning and visual classification.

Rui Zhang, Singapore, Singapore, for contributions to cognitive radio and energy harvesting communications.

Ce Zhu, Chengdu, China, for contributions to video coding and communications.

Table of Contents:

Chapter & DL News


IEEE SPS Educational Resources

IEEE SPS Resource Center

IEEE SPS YouTube Channel